We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot”

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Native American Medicine Wheel National Historic Landmark is a beautiful spot on top of a mountain in the Bighorn Mountain Range. It's approximately 10,000 feet in elevation and you do have to hike the last mile maybe. The scenery is gorgeous on the hike and when you get to the wheel. The rangers who were working on July 28th when we visited were very welcoming and knowledgeable.
Be certain you have enough water and that you're ready for a little altitude. You see a great deal of marmots and very colorful birds on the hike up.
The medicine wheel is incredibly interesting and we learned a great deal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome! Had to park and walk 1.5 miles to get to it but seeing it was worth every step. High elevation. .nearly 10,000 feet.
Young ranger interpreter was very knowledgeable of the Wheel. Restrooms were spotless. Handicap are allowed to drive up to the wheel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longmont, colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazingly spiritual place”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There are no words to describe the energy and feelings that are to be found at the Medicine Wheel. It is not a place to be taken lightly but a place to go to feel the spiritual energy for all those that have been there for many, many years. If you are an energy sensitive person you will be amazed at what you will pick up while visiting there. I could have spent a lot more time at the Wheel but was overwhelmed with emotion on the energies there.
The walk up to it is 1and a half miles and is beautiful scenery all the way with benches to rest if you need to. It is between 9500 and 10,000 feet so the oxygen is sparse! The trip down seems to be uphill also(!) so wear good walking shoes and carry water and a light jacket. You won't be disappointed in the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank spunkysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Neat to see, long walk, stunning views”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had read about the Medicine Wheel and wanted to see it. It is a 1.5 mile walk each way to see the wheel. It is not level with lots of ups and downs there and back during the walk. The last stretch is all up. It was neat to see, but felt like we spent way to much time on this. It was a really long walk for something we only stayed at 5 minutes when we got to the top. We all agreed we wouldn't do it again. With that being said, the views were absolutely stunning during the walk and it is a deeply spiritual place for some.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic, but a killer for an old guy!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The views on the way (walking) and at the top are pretty much impossible to describe. The 3-mile walk (round trip) is level nowhere. You must be prepared for straight up, then straight down, then straight up, etc. And you are at almost 10,000 feet. Remember the temp drops on the way up to the wind-blown "wheel" at the top. My wife made the hike for the second time and she just gushes over this -- probably her fondest memory of a place in nature. I'm pretty certain it was not worth the misery! Good luck.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gramps45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medicine Wheel National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing