We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing "Off the beaten path" Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyoming High Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Three of us checked in for a week of rest, relaxtion, quiet and a birthday celebration. We got exactly that and then some. Beautiful scenery, relaxing environment and peaceful setting. We spent every meal looking out over Bald Mountain, waiting for elk or moose to walk in the close meadow. We had binoculars ready...but the elk and moose must not have known our desires. Horseback riding offered. Medicine Wheel was the destination and it is a must see. Words cannot describe that experience. Corey and Dawnie, the managers of the lodge, were extremely accomodating. We checked into a cabin which was rustic fun! This is a 'must do' if you are looking for something off the beaten path. Ask Dawnie for her roasted potatoes!

Room Tip: Rooms inside the lodge are rustic quaint. Cabins are for the more adventerous. All were quiet and p...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having the 3 of you and we were glad to bake chocolate chip cookies for the birthday boy rather than a cake. The moose and elk are still in hiding (Probably since rifle season starts soon) If you are ever out this way again please stop in to say hello.

Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Wyoming High Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We held a two day/two night business retreat for 15 people. The accomodations are really comfortable, the staff is great and we felt VERY well taken care of throughout our stay. The surrounding area is incredibly beautiful and we even saw moose and elk right from the front porch of the lodge. I highly recommend High Country for a business or personal stay. Super cozy with spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. Your group was my first big group experience and I hope they all go that well. The organization was well represented. It was a pleasure catering to the group and getting to know all my new "brothers and sisters" I hope the company comes back for another visit. The weather here continues to be great and even had a couple snow storms roll through. We will have snowmobiles to rent here this year and it looks like they'll be used in about a month.

Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful, serene, gorgeous place in the mountains, this is it! We have stayed at this lodge for several years and it has become our favorite. The wildlife in the area is amazing. We have had moose in our cabin yard almost daily each year and there are huge elk herds and mule deer galore. We enjoyed great home-cooked family style meals, horseback rides and hiking to water falls. We brought our own ATV along as well so that we could utilize the hundreds of miles of trails in the area. For our children, this place has become an annual tradition and even when given the choice to go to the ocean for something different, they chose Wyoming High Country. If you are looking for a busy, populated place and a hectic, scheduled vacation with lots of stimulus to entertain you, than this is not for you. However, if you are looking for a true vacation from your busy life where you can disconnect and enjoy nature's beauty...then you better book a room!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Tiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your stay with us and positive comments. As the new manager I look forward to meeting you and providing your family the same great service you received the last time. The views from the lodge are great and winter season is fast approaching. The fireplace in the main lodge is going to be started soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went by Wyoming High Country in 2011 and found it extremely wonderful. In late June of 2012 we went back and spent some time in the lodge and went with them for a horse back adventure. It was amazing the amount of wildlife we saw and the horses did not mind even when we were approached but a mother bear and her cubs. We were pleasantly surprised as to what we found. If you want to go to a city and enjoy a hotel on the strip in Las Vegas this is not that. It is at 9,000 feet on top of the Big Horn Mountains, the snow was just starting to leave and we would not have ever found anything like this anywhere else. This is the only place that we could ever go that we could have experienced the outdoors and the environment in real time. Staff always took care of our requests, and met our needs.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are greater then the cabins
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place makes Wyoming look like a lot less than it is! Reservation arrangments were horrible and almost impossible. The staff at the lodge were incompitent at best and seemed to be preoccupied with getting by with the least of service to the clientele. Do yourself a favor and make reservations somewhere else and avoid the headache of dealing with a substandard staff and management! The owners, pity of a shot of making a name in Wyoming!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms! Do not book a trip here!
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank madesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

It sounds as if the last group of staff here did not leave you with a favorable impression of Wyoming or our lodge. They are no longer here. The current staff consist of a retired K9 officer from the Air Force. A retired British Police Officer, a Cowboy and a hard working young man. Our goal is to treat everyone that comes here as extended family. We greet you in the parking lot on arrival and show you into our "home". If we need to get up at 0530 to cook a breakfast or stay up till 2330 waiting for lost guest to arrive, we will do it. We are going to make hospitality and customer service our number one goal.

Reservations have been an issue and to solve that problem we got rid of the satellite phone (which never worked) and got a regular land line phone...307-529-0914. We have increased our internet capabilities and included wi-fi to better handle email requests and support our guests. We have added another email...smilyncor@dishmail.net just in case our service at the lodge goes down. We want to give Wyoming a good name and with the changes made I think we will. Thank you for giving us a try the first time and if you are ever in the area again, please stop in to see for yourself the changes that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Poor under-cooked food. Reservations screwed up. Unfriendly staff. Dirty rooms. Over priced.

Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. The place is a mess. It looks like they have about 30 different projects going on with not a single one of them close to being done. The continental breakfast is composed of breakfast cereal from Wal Mart thrown out on a table. Mouse droppings in the cabins. The setting is beautiful which is the best that can be said for the place. I would not recommend anyone go there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyoboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Our outdoor cabins are rustic for that wilderness experience but, are checked daily for cleanliness. There are a lot of animals in the forest and we will continue to do our very best to keep the cabins clean and presentable for our guests. If there ever is an issue and we miss something, a full cleaning will be done again to the customers satisfaction.

We have served a continental breakfast once in the last 5 weeks and it consisted of Cereal, both regular and nature lover almond style. Both cereals were actually bought in the valley. There was a selection of 4 kinds presented nicely on a table. Along with that we made available, milk, toast, juice, butter, jellies and jams and cinnamon rolls. We do not have the dispenser containers the big chain hotels do for the cereal and maybe that is something we could get. Then you would not see the boxes. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Wyoming High County Lodge, on the west edge of the Big Horn Mountains 120 miles east of Yellowstone Park in Wyoming. Newer lodge facility built in 2007, outstanding beauty and splendor. Wonderful lodge pole pine furnished rooms. All the fresh air that you could ever enjoy. Watchable wildlife, fishing in the high mountain streams. No impact of the masses, this lodge can only handle a few preferred guests. Hospitality is extremely casual, allowing for meals at our convenience, and the quite is deafening. The wind, birds, coyotes and an owl made up the evening music, which went on into the night until we retired to our room at the lodge, which was wonderful. We could have stayed a life time. Check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fordvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovell
18.1 mi away
Elk View Inn
Elk View Inn
#2 of 4 in Dayton
80 reviews
26.0 mi away
Cattlemen Motel
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
27 reviews
24.4 mi away
Greybull Motel
Greybull Motel
#1 of 5 in Greybull
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Historic Hotel Greybull
Historic Hotel Greybull
#1 of 2 in Greybull
175 reviews
23.9 mi away
Antler Motel
Antler Motel
#2 of 5 in Greybull
66 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yellowstone Motel
Yellowstone Motel
#3 of 5 in Greybull
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyoming High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyoming High Country Lodge

Address: Highway 14A, Lovell, WY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lovell
Price Range: $75 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyoming High Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyoming High Country Lodge is operated as a mountain resort, under a special use permit by the Forest Service, and offers recreation activities to the general public. Wyoming High Country Lodge has an upscale lodge, with lodging, rustic cabins, meals, fueling station, and camp store services in support of its recreation activities. Our elevation is at approximately 9000' with some of the most spectacular views ever seen. Outside of the windows of your selected accommodations, you will have the opportunity to see Elk, Moose, Deer, Coyote, Squirrels, Chipmunks and any other wildlife known to the area. Our main lodge has 4 rooms with a Queen and a Full Bed, 1 room with a King bed and 1 room with a Queen Bed. Each room has a full bath. We have 4 cabins that are rustic in design with full baths, bunk beds that will sleep up to 9 people with refrigerator and microwave. These are fantastic for families or groups. We also a bunkhouse cabin with 3 twin bunks. We have shower facilities on site for your convenience. We have guided side by side tours in the summer and fall and are very popular for the snowmobilers and snow kiters in the winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing