We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great price, large, well-equipped rooms!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lovell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horseshoe Bend Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lovell
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great people, great price, large, well-equipped rooms!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Talk about a friendly staff, these folks make you feel like they've known you forever. It's very nice to stay with people like this. Their rooms are spacious and contain a refrigerator and a microwave and a kitchen sink. The beds are good ones, and the place is quiet both day and night. There's a nice dog walk and swimming pool on the property, which is located within walking distance of most of the town's businesses. Nice, homemade muffins, fruit, and coffee is served for breakfast, and you can sit on a nice, comfortable couch and eat while you watch the morning news on a big TV. There's a piano in the office, too, if you're talented enough to play it, and the lady who owns the place knows all about the wild horses that inhabit the Bighorn Mountains just outside town. I don't think you can find a better, more reasonably priced motel anywhere near Lovell, which is close to Billings, Cody, and Red Lodge, Montana. Altogether terrific!

Room Tip: Great motorcycle parking area, with all rooms at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurninDaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
13
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
261 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here because of the owner's reputation for knowing where the horses on Pryor Mountain could be found. The motel is the old style where you could park outside your room(especially good for bikers). The room was very clean and serviceable. The Wifi was easy and fast.
When we first arrived I talked to the owner about the horses and she put us right on them. In addition, she recommended that we visit Devil's Canyon. She was right on all counts.
Don't plan on the motel for breakfast. We ate at the Branding Iron, just down the street, and it was sumptous. Really a lot of food.
All in all, I would stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Horseshoe Bend Motel is a step back in time--no fancy chain--just friendly owners who treat guests like family and a comfy place to stay in the Cowboy State. We used the Horseshoe Bend as our base to drive up and view Cloud the wild stallion and the wild herd that lives on Pryor Mountain just outside of Lovell. It's a basic motel room with 1-2 beds and a bath and a refrigerator. We took breakfast food and fixed lunches on the mountain. At night we had dinner in the authentic Cowtown Cafe in nearby Cowley or you can cook out at the motel. There's a nice grocery store in town.
Lovell is a short drive to Cody, WY, Buffalo Bill's stomping ground, as well as Red Lodge and Billings, MT. Don't miss this opportunity to view these national icons, the wild horses of Pryor Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doughgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Your lodging options in Lovell are limited. The Western Motel and the Horseshoe. Unless you are really on a budget, I suggest moving on to Powell or Cody. Yes, it will cost more, but this is the most basic of basic motels. The thinnest sheets, the skimpiest blankets, the oldest furniture, flooring,etc. No hair dryer, no shampoo, no coffee, no nothing! However, it is clean, immaculately so. I would not stay there in winter. The rooms are frigid and heat is hard to control.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovell
18.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Powell
0.3 mi away
Cattlemen Motel
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
20 reviews
18.7 mi away
Super 8 Powell
Super 8 Powell
#1 of 2 in Powell
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Bend Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bend Motel

Property: Horseshoe Bend Motel
Address: 375 E Main St, Lovell, WY 82431-2153
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lovell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lovell
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing