We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs......ugh!”
Review of Gas Lite Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laramie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gas Lite Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Laramie
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We r not uppity people in any way whatsoever, so staying at Gas Lite based on reviews was ok w us.

It's definitely a simple, low budget, low end place but that's ok too.

What we were not ok with we're the bedbugs! We went to sleep with no bites, n woke up with"bites of 3" in many places.

Luckily we did not put our clothing bags on the bed at all n I'd not set any other personal belongings on it either. We will still have to hot water wash all our items though to make sure we don't bring any home with us.

Lastly, it was a non-smoking room but obviously someone has smoked in there.

I will Never stay there again n will tell our friends, pay the extra $ n stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

The decor at this place is pretty cheeky, but it's also what makes it an interesting, fun place to stay. It's faux log cabin-like with a lot animal and cowboy era figures. We stayed here in multiple rooms before heading to the Denver Airport and they were very accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlezingalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here on our way through on a family vacation, and we were SO happy that we did! I read the other reviews on this motel, all which sounded good so we thought what the heck. My husband and I have two daughters ages 10 and 16 and on this trip we have stayed in every kind of hotel imaginable and when we checked in here and looked at our room, both of the girls said that this was the coolest place we've stayed on our trip besides the Mandalay Bay in Vegas (which cost $100.00 more than here) Clean room, super friendly people, comfy beds and I LOVE the eccentric feel! We stayed in the Clint Eastwood room..great since we love him :-). The only complaint we had was sort of a minimal breakfast but with the money you can save here will certainly buy you a meal close by. I know if we ever come this way again..this will be our first stop!

Room Tip: Apparently all there rooms have a 'theme' of a western character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I read all of the reviews and thought I would give the motel a try. At check in I felt uneasy with the look of the lobby. It was very dingy and 2 or 3 animals lounging in the lobby. I don't mind pets and have a dog of my own but it made me uneasy to see the animals have free range of the place. I checked into the room and upon entering was ready to leave. My five year old daughter said "Mom this place is creepy". I had to agree with her but wanted to tough it out and just sleep and continue our travel in the morning. I went to the bathroom and it did not help my to feel any better. The toilet was old and the seat was chipping off. The shower had mold in the grout. I took the bed spread off the bed and the blankets underneath were scairy. I don't know what was on them but it was frightening. The mattress moved and you could see the sides of the box spring and it was horrible. There was so much dirt and hair and I have no clue what else stuck in the edge. I tried to plug in my phone charge and most of the outlets did not work. I finally found one that did and when I plugged in my phone I noticed some sort of old candy and lots of dirt and hair on the floor against the wall. The last straw was when I pulled back the pillow and found a pubic hair under the pillow. I grabbed my girls and told them we were leaving there was no way I could stay here. I tried to stay and did not want to seem like a snob but the room made me feel so uncomfortable I would have never got any sleep.
I went to the lobby and explained to the women at the front that I could not stay here and I would like a refund of my money. I told her that even if she did not refund my money I would not be staying. I told her about the hair and that I was just going to continue driving to Cheyenne. She said she knows that the sheets were changed and asked if I wanted to try another room. I said no I wanted to keep driving and find somewhere else. She did not seem very happy about it but she did refund my money and we left and drove and found a much cleaner place to stay.
I would not recommend this place and would advise you to not stop and the cheap price and quirky decor is not enough to make up for the uncleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AMAAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I want to see every room! Can't wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasch231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed one night last month as we got snowed in laramie from the storm. It was a good value as we payed about half as much as the chains were asking. The rooms are clean and I really appreciated the water pressure. Nothing spectacular or fancy just a good cheap place to stay...and the bed was really comfy! They also accept pets and don't gouge you for traveling with your furry buddy.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyopride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Roads were terrible out of Laramie, so I decided to take a chance and stay at the Gas Lite at the recommendation of a co-worker. He advised me that it is nothing fancy, but a good, clean, cheap room. It was all three of those things. It's definitely a dated decor, but nothing was broken or damaged, and the paintings in the room added character. Good, cheap stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laramie hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Laramie Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Laramie Valley Inn
Laramie Valley Inn
#13 of 20 in Laramie
35 reviews
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Laramie - University of Wyoming
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Laramie
Days Inn Laramie
#5 of 20 in Laramie
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Laramie
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Laramie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gas Lite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gas Lite Motel

Address: 960 N 3rd St, PO Box 1162, Laramie, WY 82072-2510
Location: United States > Wyoming > Laramie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Laramie
Price Range: $41 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(formerly Best Western Gas Lite Motel) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gas Lite Hotel Laramie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing