We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Carpenter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laramie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mad Carpenter Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Laramie B&B and Inns
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

My wife and I came to Laramie for a family reunion, and staying here was a super bonus. The house is incredible with all its stunning and tasteful decoration. Our room, the Whimsey, was small but very comfortable. The owners were away, so their daughter, Neika, was our host - and she is such a delightful person. (Make sure she shows you the vaulted Game Room upstairs - amazing piece of work. This place is a real gem - a great gateway to the Snowy Range, our favorite part of the Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rah373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
656 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Unfortunately, time only allowed us a one night stay. This inn is perfectly situated barely a block from the central University of Wyoming campus. The innkeepers are warm and yet discreet enough to give you some quiet time. We didn't get to use the game room but the kitchen, dining and common areas are immaculate and roomy. There is no way to describe the detail of woodwork, cabinetry and other design touches that are evident everywhere in this inviting home.

Our queen bed was unbelievably comfortable. The room featured a beautifully designed hardwood floor with inlaid wood designs. The innkeepers, food, cleanliness and spectacular woodwork are worthy of five stars. The Mad Carpenter Inn's location couldn't be better if you have plans in Laramie or especially at the University of Wyoming. We loved it. Just keep it our secret, though.

  • Liked — Attention to detail of the property, food and care of the guests. Great Laramie location!
  • Disliked — We only stayed one night.....bummer :(
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripper516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

This must be the best place to stay in Laramie! There are not that many options and most are boring chain motels. This place is very comfortable - the owners sure have eye for detail. Not only is all the woodwork amazing, but everything you need is there: the bath tub actually comes with a selection of bubble baths, candles and matches! We stayed in the smallest room, Blossom, which was very cozy and comfortable - with a cute little nook under the stairs. Two little minor things - due to the central location - there is no nice view from the room and the TV is situated to the side of the bed which makes watching TV slightly uncomfortable.
Breakfast was great - especially the home made granola and conversation with the owners while sitting at the bar in their kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

I have stayed in several B&Bs around the U.S., as well as some overseas. This inn ranks as one of the best, in my experience. The inn itself is a beautifully restored house; my room was comfortable for both sleeping and some desk work I needed to do. It was a quick walk to the events I was attending on campus. The breakfasts were outstanding. A great fresh fruit plate, delicious home-made baked goods and much more made breakfast a substantial meal -- loved those fresh-out-of-the-oven fruit crisps! The innkeepers were a delight -- they are definitely expert at gauging how much interaction/conversation you are up for. I felt so nurtured by them and their fabulous inn, and was able to recharge at the end of some jam-packed, high adrenaline days. Now I want to go back to Laramie for a vacation, just so I can stay at this inn again!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGalOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

Travelled 4200 miles over about 12 days; stayed in 8 different B and Bs throughout Iowa, SD, WY, and NE. This was the best of all of them for the price, location, breakfast, and conversation. You sometimes don't know what to expect when you pull into a strange town...hoping the accomodations are what you're expecting. The Mad Carpenter met, then exceeded, all expectations....

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NKyKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

I am at the Mad Carpenter right now and could have written that July 11 review, as I agree with every word of it. I am here for a business meeting at the university and chose this place only because I dread the dorms! What a wonderful surprise to find a lovely, amazingly comfortable inn. The rooms are spotless and inviting, with all the amenities you could ask for. The owners are wonderful and make you feel like family (though never overbearing - they are obviously quite good at "reading" the guests and letting the guest set the tone). They are very professional - sent a confirming e-mail right away and when I wrote to confirm closer to my stay, responded immediately. The food smells and looks heavenly. I don't eat baked goods, so I can't say if they are as good as they smell and look, but other guests are enjoying them immensely. The gardens are especially lovely. The guest wants for nothing - the rooms have extra blankets, pillows, towels, shampoos, soaps, etc. Plenty of books, magazines, and other distractions. Laramie is a quiet little town that is probably best as a base for hiking in Medicine Bow, and this is the best place to stay in Laramie.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank FlightDelayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

This place is absolutely fabulous! The woodwork is great and was done by the owner. There is also some great ceiling work done by the owners' daughter. Great water garden outside where we enjoyed sitting. All made more interesting by the fact you could talk to the people who did the work. The house was recently converted to a B&B so they are fairly new. I would definitely return if I was in Laramie.

Walking distance to downtown Laramie in a beautiful tree lined neighborhood.

The innkeepers are quite nice and we enjoyed talking with them over breakfast at the bar next to the kitchen. There was also a table for slightly more private dining if that's what you desire.

I would say the breakfast was the best we've had at a B&B, but its probably a three-way tie so far. They were happy to accomodate special dietary requirements. They say continental breakfast on their website - maybe we were lucky and they don't always do this, but we got waffles, homemade baked goods, and more, and they made them vegan for us!

There is also a game room which we didn't have time to check out.

Very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
1 Thank biflhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laramie hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Laramie
2.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Laramie - University of Wyoming
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Laramie
Days Inn Laramie
#5 of 19 in Laramie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 8 Laramie
Motel 8 Laramie
#9 of 19 in Laramie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Laramie
Hampton Inn Laramie
#3 of 19 in Laramie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Carpenter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Carpenter Inn

Property: Mad Carpenter Inn
Address: 353 N 8th St, Laramie, WY 82072-3304
Location: United States > Wyoming > Laramie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Laramie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For vacation or business in Laramie, our Bed and Breakfast will provide superb lodging accommodations. That is our promise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing