We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands on fun”
Review of Vedauwoo

Vedauwoo
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hands on fun”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is abundant land and fun for walkers, climbers, hikers of any skill level. And not so crowded and littered like Colorado.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank callytd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    35
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vedawoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of my family's favorite places on the whole earth! You can rock climb, hike, picnic, enjoy the Wyoming outdoors and share happy times with friends and even people who are nearby, making new friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vedauwoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A beautiful area of stone formations - especially of interest to rock climbers, but nice to stop for a picnic or short hike

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laramie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden natural gem near Laramie”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I'd never heard of Vedauwoo (pronounced VEE-da-voo) until I searched for things to do in Laramie, and I am so glad I found this wonderful natural area. The site, a unit of the Wind River-Routt National Forest isolated out in the Wyoming plains, is a collection of low, eroded granite hills whose rocky tops have been exposed. The fantastically weathered landscape boasts bare stone hills and boulders--a well-known mecca for rock climbers and bouldering enthusiasts. My wife and I walked the easy 3-mile Turtle Rock Trail that encircles some of the most impressive of the scenery, which also includes a picturesque stream, beaver ponds, and (when we visited in mid-July) plenty of beautiful wildflowers. There are also picnic facilities, restrooms, and developed campsites available. A $5/car day-use fee is required to enter Vedauwoo.

Two notes: While the hills support a thin coniferous forest, there is almost no shade anywhere, so come prepared with sunscreen. And, even though the hills are exposed, they are at 7,300 feet in elevation so they remain relatively cool even during the summer.

My only beef is about the trail signage on the Turtle Rock Trail. Once hikers get away from the developed picnic/camping/climbing area, the trail is obvious and easy to follow. But within the developed area, locating and following the trail can be a real challenge even with the well-maintained signs the forest service has erected. My wife and I almost gave up in exasperation because we just couldn't figure out where to go at several trail junctures, but we decided to persevere and are so glad that we did because some of the best views are away from the developed area. I don't know what to suggest to visitors who encounter this problem because other TripAdvisor reviewers have made similar comments; count on a little confusion if you decide to hike.

Vedauwoo was the highlight of our trip to southeastern Wyoming. If you're interested in natural areas, beautiful scenery, solitude, and wildflowers with relatively easy access, don't miss it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quick hike with the kids!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Great sight seeing and an easy in and out with your vehicle. As we were driving out we saw two moose eating about 15 feet from the trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vedauwoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing