We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking with the kids. Really interesting rock formations.”
Review of Vedauwoo

Vedauwoo
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jelm, WY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hiking with the kids. Really interesting rock formations.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A quick stop from I-80 not far from Laramie, WY this little federal park is neat. None of the crowds of big parks, just an honor box to park. We hiked for a couple of hours but you could spend more than that and not be bored. Nice place to pack a lunch, hike and enjoy the outdoors.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_and_Krista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    33
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice treasure just outside Laramie”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First the housekeeping. The exit off I-80 is well marked. The road to the area is paved and easy to follow. It costs $5 to day park (they do take checks). Dogs are allowed if on a leash.
We walked the turtle trail. It is a fairly easy trail that took us about 1 hour to walk. It is definitely a kid friendly trail. The down side is that the trail markings at the start of the trail are not the best. We ended up hiking back to the upper parking area and then having to backtrack to the real trail (not a problem, but annoying). Much of the hike is under the cover of trees, so it was very comfortable hiking in the afternoon on a hot August day (although an approaching thunderstorm also helped moderate the temperature. There are several outhouses in the parking area, but once you start on the trail you are on your own. I didn't see anywhere you can get water, so be sure to bring your own. There are areas set aside for tent camping and camper camping. I think it's $10/ day to camp. Definitely a fun hike and not to miss if you enjoy being outdoors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 376laurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you like the outdoors, you'll love Vedauwoo!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a neat small park area, located just off I-80 between Cheyenne and Laramie. Very popular in the summer for it's unique rock formations which are great for climbing and exploring. (No special equipment required.) The area is also very popular during the winter for snowshoeing. A fun place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful place for a hike or simply a picnic”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I live in Colorado, so I'm used to beautiful landscapes. This natural area in between Laramie and Cheyenne is worth a visit, even for folks like me who are spoiled by all the great places in the Rockies. There's a loop trail that goes around the major rock formation (Turtle Rock trail) and it features nice views of rocks, wetlands, waterfalls, aspen groves, pines, cliffs, etc. The trail isn't hard if you're in decent shape. Expect to hike it in 2-3 hours. There are also lots of nice picnic areas. Recommended! (A national parks "America the Beautiful" pass will get you in for free; otherwise, there's an entry fee.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank classicalfan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“verauwoo”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very unique rock formations. great place to take a hike. Weather was perfect. Only about 10 minutes away from hotel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vedauwoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing