We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return of the carnivore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Melissa Cafe

Sweet Melissa Cafe
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return of the carnivore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I tend to approach vegetarian restaurants with a bit of suspicion- i am not into tree hugging and eating overcooked and tasteless greens served by an unkempt genderless creature but i have to come back on this cliche and gladly confess: this restaurant is awesome. If you are a foodie, you will love the Patty Melt (take the one with the beans) - enjoy the lasagna or the garlic hummus or really anything. We have enjoyed the food so much that we have returned from Yellowstone through Laramie just because of this restaurant, so i stand corrected!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belletjeheenenweer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    65
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have lunch at Sweet Melissa's often, but we recently joined some friends for a Friday night dinner. The lunch choices were still there, but the dinner selections were also great. Vegetarian tacos, lasagna, and a sweet potato burrito were among our choices -- all very good! It can get a little noisy on weekends from the popular bar next door, but on the other hand, it allows them to serve a full range of drinks. We shared a pitcher of Snake River IPA and had a great time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WyomingCooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location, Love It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let me first say I am a hunter, love game meat and we eat what I harvest all the time. Having said that, this vegetarian restaurant is a place I could eat at every day. My wife and I stopped in for a late lunch after a morning of hiking in the mountains and had the Tapenade appetizer followed by the Grilled Humus Sandwich and Falafel Pita with Tahini and Cucumber Yogurt and a bowl of Gazpacho for good measure. All of it was excellent as was the service from Angela. The menu and daily specials are varied and mouthwatering just to read.

The location is old Laramie at its best; 1st Street next to the rail road tracks. Back in the day this street was somewhat of the Red Light District and the architecture is beautiful. After lunch we went next door to the Works of Wyoming art gallery and enjoyed the art and photos from local artists having just been well nourished from a great local restaurant. What a perfect way to enjoy an afternoon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vegetarian in Wyoming: who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a college hang out kind of place. We tried the lentil loaf, pizza, cauliflowers salad sandwich, lasagne, and tamale pie amongst the five of us. All was delicious, but the pizza is very small and not nearly the value as the other items. And unfortunately, that is what my 14 year old son ordered. Four tiny pieces did not cut it. Luckily he was able to finish up his sisters' food. We also ordered three desserts to split: key line pie, sour cream pumpkin (which was a cold pie), and fried banana bread with caramel sauce. They were all fantastic. We are not vegetarians, but we enjoy meatless dishes several times a week so this was great. Reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damommachef40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Sweet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Got caught in a downpour in downtown Laramie today. Ducked into Sweet Melissa's for a respite, a glass of wine and some good food. My server greeted me within 3-5 minutes and was a doll! Not sure what to order, I eavesdropped on a couple of locals. Taking their lead, i had a cup of chili and the cauliflower sandwich. Oh, yeah - how can i forget the organic chardonnay. It was wonderful. The chili was full of beans and very chunky. The sandwich was served open-faced on thinly sliced rye bread. The cauliflower was finely chopped and mixed with a little red onion and celery for a nice crunch. Then broiled with swiss cheese. I loved it. I'm going to try to make it at home. The restaurant is on a back-street, sort of. The trains run right over there. And, we were lucky enough that a big train came through while i was there. It helped to make the afternoon and the atmosphere. I'm glad I gave it a try. I travel for business in The Wild West and usually go carnivore while on the road. I switched it up and am glad for it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaltLakeCitySlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Melissa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing