We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy road-trip stop”
Review of Prairie Rose Cafe

Prairie Rose Cafe
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Northeast U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy road-trip stop”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stopped here for lunch while driving from Denver to Riverton. We found the Prairie Rose through TripAdvisor, and were so happy with our choice. It is a very short and easy drive from the highway -- maybe a five-minute detour? -- and absolutely worth it. It's in a part of Laramie that (according to my traveling companion) used to be very rundown, but appears to be perking up. Yes, it is a diner -- and I'm reviewing it as such. The decor is modest, but with some nice, quirky touches like the mobiles made from old flatware. Service was great (an apparently new waitress was serving tables beside us, and had some trouble, but the cook and manager were keeping an eye on her and letting her know what needed to be fixed, all in a friendly and humorous way), restaurant and bathrooms were clean, and the food was fantastic. I had an omelet, toast, and hash browns. All was good, and the hash browns were almost a religious experience: they were made of wide, but thin, strips of potato, with lots of crunch on the outside and tender, delicate potato goodness on the inside. I rarely permit myself to order hash browns, but I'm so glad I did here. They were truly excellent. Water and coffee refilled frequently and unobtrusively.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoRestForTheWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    77
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly, tasty, huge portions, but few healthy alternatives”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In one form or another, "The Rose" has been a downtown Laramie diner for decades. In the past five years or so, it's changed to offer bigger portions of old fashioned diner food (think burgers and chicken fried steak or meatloaf) and famously friendly service from an all young female wait staff and an all male cooking crew. In that respect, there's a usually slight or sometimes obvious (depending on the waitress's wardrobe choices) hint of a Hooters inspiration to the gender arrangement, only without any provocative uniforms. Belly up to the lunch counter and you will be welcomed as a friend. Hungover university students and sports fans pack the diner on weekend mornings, with weekday afternoons between one and three offering a more ideal staff to customer ratio. Daily specials are typically a dollar cheaper than menu items. The served all day breakfast burrito-- essentially hashbrowns, eggs, chili and optional breakfast meats in a giant tortilla-- is the most popular dish and a very satisfying meal. Although they are not on the menu, I recommend you ask to try the tater tots as a substitute for the fries at lunch because they're crispier. A typical Prairie Rose meal will provide a full day's worth of calories, and probably about three days' worth of fat and salt-- more if you tack on a delicious slice of pie a la mode or giant cinnamon roll. There are a handful of healthy alternatives, such as oatmeal for breakfast and a broiled chicken sandwich for lunch, as well as iceberg lettuce salads and cottage cheese on the side. Fruit is conspicuously absent from all offerings. After being a regular customer for years, I found myself cutting way back on the diner food for survival's sake, and there just wasn't enough variety on the healthy side to keep me coming back very often. Another shortcoming is ambiance, with only a tiny window facing the street and mostly cheap furnishings and often dingy floors, but with some nice photography for sale on the walls.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best breakfast I have had in a long long time.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our waitress was awsome. Do not let the looks of this cafe fool you. The food is great. The chicken fried steak was cooked perfect, hash browns are fresh NOT forzen. Portions where large. Don't miss this hidden jem in Laramie

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Ask about the daily specials (ALL are fabulous). Their great breakfast/brunch dishes are guaranteed to warm and brighten up a Wyoming winter day. (Take a few cinnamon rolls to-go to those less fortunate!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On the recommendation of the lady at the visitors center in Laramie, WY, we went to the Prairie Rose restaurant for lunch. The waitress was friendly and the quality of the food was very good. You do not leave this restaurant hungry, as the portions are huge.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim0244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prairie Rose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing