We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fremont County Pioneer Museum
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
High Quality Museum in such a small town!

Lander Museum is the largest of the three in the Fremont County. We visit lots of museums and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
YorkGardener
,
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Living History

The Lander Pioneer Museum houses fascinating relics of the area including the wagon hammer skull... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Misteralma
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
24
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
24
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small town covered wagon old west mining settling artifacts history century collection visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lander Museum is the largest of the three in the Fremont County. We visit lots of museums and these three are unbelievable to find in a county of less than 40.000 people. This one in Lander is the largest of the three. Signage is professional and well researched, displays are attractive. The collection is diverse yet connected. We definitely recommend that you stop and visit not only Lander Museum but also the Fremont County Pioneer Museum located adjacent to it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank YorkGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottG3304, General Manager at Fremont County Pioneer Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for stopping, we are glad you have been enjoying your visits to our museums, don't forget to take in the Dubois Museum: Wind River Historical Center as well. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Lander Pioneer Museum houses fascinating relics of the area including the wagon hammer skull, mining and prospecting antiques, and sheepherder history and quarters. The village built up around the grounds invites visitors into the feel of the old west. The best feature of the museum is how involved it is in the community in hosting Halloween gatherings, petroglyph hikes, and barbecue/auction events.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Misteralma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

This small two-story museum packs a big punch... Its exhibits document the settling of the area around Lander, including the history of the Mountain Men... There are lots of pioneer artifacts, including a live-in covered wagon you can climb up into, and some mock-up pioneer offices and rooms... Its collection of paintings and sketches occupied us for forty minutes... One special treat was to eavesdrop while a staff-person gave a tour to a class of 2nd or 32rd graders from the local school.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MichaelfromMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottG3304, Manager at Fremont County Pioneer Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for the great review, we very much appreciate it and are very glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Often small town museums are dated and a little smelly but not this one! Learned so much about Lander and the surrounding areas. Wyoming has so much great history that few people realize. Spent 2 hours but could of spent more if I had the time. I will be back, thanks for a beautiful place to stop and explore WY a bit more.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tomcatnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottG3304, Manager at Fremont County Pioneer Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

So glad you enjoyed your visit to the Pioneer Museum and thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

I don’t think I was expecting much, but I spent a delightful hour and a half going through this museum. I learned a lot and would highly recommend a visit here

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank LuP1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Manager at Fremont County Pioneer Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

So happy you enjoyed your visit to the Pioneer Museum. Thanks very much for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews