We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allen's Diamond 4 Ranch
Albany, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family vacation”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. The Allen family, who take great care to be sure every guest's vacation is a success, are kind, fun, and wonderful companions. Jim, Mary and their daughters are true Wyoming experts and they're incredibly generous with their knowledge of their mountain environment.
Meals, which are shared with the family and their friendly and engaging staff, are a delight. The horseback rides through the spectacular scenery are great fun and the cabins are comfortable and charmingly rustic. Jim is a great conversationalist and his background as a wilderness instructor comes through as he teaches guests about horses and riding and the Wind River range. My sons, 16 and 11, had an absolutely fantastic time, as did we adults.
When you want to get away from your regular life and get back to basics while having a beautiful, fun-filled and relaxing vacation, come to the Diamond 4!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you are looking for a true back country experience with horses the Allen's Diamond 4 Ranch is the place to go. The Allen's and their staff make you feel like old friends from the first day. There horses are some of the finest mountain horses you will find anywhere. We would highly recommend spending time here if you like beautiful mountain settings with no high tech distractions. Our two daughters had a great experence and can not wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

If you want to avoid hot tubs and kids clubs this is where to come. We had a wonderful ranch holiday, going out on rides every day in beautiful scenery. What made it so special was how welcome we were made to feel by the Allen family and by the wranglers, we so enjoyed listening to all their stories over meals, rides and picnics, and learning about life on the ranch. The horses are really well looked after, and expert at picking their way up and down the mountain trails. This was the kind of holiday where you really do get away from all the hustle and bustle and the Allens tailor your holiday to suit you.
The accommodation is in spacious log cabins and the home cooked food was super. Tea, coffee, squash available all day. If you're very safety conscious or have young children you might want to bring your own riding helmets.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiez, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for one week on the ranch and did rides to different places every day. In the evenings we came back to the ranch and sleeped in one of the nice small huts. The landscape is great and the rides were beautiful. Every day we could choose how many hours we wanded to ride. The Allen familiy and all the wranglers where very nice to us. Also I like, that all of them treated the horses with a lot of respect and love. I felt welcome like part of the family. The food was absolutely great, also for me as a vegetarian.
The only thing what you have to know is, that with the horses on this ranch only walking is allowed. Becasue of the difficult mountain trails and the high altitude in most places anyway nothing else would be possible. But also on flat parts trot, canter or galopp is not allowed. This is important to know in order not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselaR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were there the summer of 2013 and it was great! We stayed one night at the mountain cabin (great food! and even better conversation at dinner ) and then they packed us in to a remote lake in the Winds for 5 days. Our kids (11 and 13) were not experienced riders but it did not matter due to good horses and smart, friendly, professional wranglers. We changed our destination at the last minute and they handled us without missing a beat. So thankful we picked them :) We felt right at home. They know what they are doing. This is a can't-miss-it trip .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have known the Allen family for more than two decades. First the family is wonderful. Secondly, the attention to detail for a fun and safe ranch/riding experience at the Allen Ranch is the best anywhere! I have been riding Diamond 4 horses for a long time-moving cattle or trail riding through the Wind River range-and they are superbly trained. Importantly, the wranglers and guides work to the Allen's high standards for the benefit of each guest. You will enjoy a memorable time and view some of the most beautiful scenery in the United States. It is a "must-do" trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This past summer, Jim and Mary packed our family of three (including our six-yearold son) into the Winds for a camping trip, and came back to get us a week later. The cabin we stayed in at the ranch was charming and immaculate. Jim, Mary and their family made us feel very much at home. The food was delicious, and the family-style dining enhanced the feeling that we were at home there. The horses were very well-taken care of and well-behaved, and the operation in general was highly professional . We certainly plan to return this summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 214Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lander hotels
16.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Pronghorn Lodge
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Lander
16.8 mi away
The Inn at Lander
The Inn at Lander
#4 of 7 in Lander
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Holiday Lodge Motel Campground
15.8 mi away
Frontier Lodge
Frontier Lodge
#7 of 7 in Lander
51 reviews
13.9 mi away
Shoshone Rose Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen's Diamond 4 Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen's Diamond 4 Ranch

Property: Allen's Diamond 4 Ranch
Address: P.O. Box 243, Lander, WY 82520-0243
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lander
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allen's Diamond 4 Ranch is Wyoming's highest guest ranch, located in the rugged Wind River Mountains. Rustic comfort, western hospitality and friendly staff make the Diamond 4 Ranch perfect for families, small groups or individuals. A ranch stay includes meals, trail riding, hiking, wildlife and fishing. Wilderness pack trips take you to alpine lakes and streams for world class fly fishing, riding, hiking or climbing. Saddle up and join us for a real western adventure! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing