We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable Beds”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn at Lander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Lander
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lander
CA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Beds”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Best Western in Lander is very attractive on the outside, but our room, although clean, was decorated in a very spare, 1950s fashion and we did not find it attractive or comfortable. And, speaking of comfort, the bed was very uncomfortable; the mattress was hard and covered by some kind of plastic and the pillows were all king size - which is (for me) much too large.

We did some laundry and the dryer took forever and $4 to get one load dry - so be sure you bring plenty of quarters if you plan on doing any washing. We weren't pleased with breakfast either. Although we were told that it is served until 9 a.m., when we arrived at 8:30 there was little but breads and cold cereal left.

On the bright side - our room was clean, which is of upmost importance, we had a good internet connection, and they gave us an excellent suggestion for dinner: Cowfish which was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NevermindCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
41
48
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
330 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our quiet room here was spacious and comfortable and clean, as were the hallways and stairs. The beds were good and the washing facilities fine. There was ample seating in the b/fast room and a good hot choice. The three computers were rather slow for us. Judy on reception was very helpful. Her suggestion of "The Hitching Rack" for eating was a good one. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Friendly desk person was cheerful and very knowledgeable, had us booked into rooms in no time. Clean quite room was very comforting for tired out of town business guys. Located near several stores and food establishments within walking distance. Adequate parking close to the building was accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A clean and comfortable basic hotel which was great for a one night stay on our way to Jackson Hole. Good breakfast in the bakery attached to the hotel. Would stay here again if travelling this way. Very good restaurant for dinner in town recommended by the hotel, but can't remember the name.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCakeLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A good place to stay for a night or two. It is nothing fancy but it is clean and comfortable. We stayed one night here on our journey to the Grand Tetons. I would stay here again if traveling through Lander.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Everything was fairly new and clean, and the breakfast was pretty good. The only downside was the hot water. It would get good and hot and then cold about every 10 seconds. Other than that it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playmesomebuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed here in the pasts for Conferences and thought it was not too bad. But things are beginning to go downhill. We found the room to be outdated and the bed uncomfortable. I hated that they kept plastic under the sheets. No matter what temperature you keep the room, you ended up sweating in bed.
Our bathroom was so small you had to stand in the tub to dress. We were most disappointed with the conference/catering staff. The continental breakfast was out of everything including coffee cups and there was no one to be found. You have to walk through the 'real restaurant' to get to the continental set up. It sort of sets you up to be disappointed.
The conference staff were slow to set up and didn't clean the facilities overnight. The catered food was actually pretty good, but the staff do not keep up with anything. The coffee in the pots after our catered dinner was ice cold.
I would not stay here personally any longer and doubt that I'd recommend this for a conference. They need to update the facilities and expand their staff. The one good thing I can say is that the front desk messed up my reservation but took care of it well.
There is a new Holiday Inn Express in Lander, I'd recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lander
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Pronghorn Lodge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Lander
19.9 mi away
Wind River Hotel
Wind River Hotel
#3 of 12 in Riverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Riverton
22.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverton
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverton - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lander

Property: The Inn at Lander
Address: 260 Grandview Dr, Lander, WY 82520-2928 (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Inn at Lander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Lander 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Lander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At Lander Hotel Lander
Best Western Lander
Best Western Hotel Lander
Lander Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing