We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best vacation of my life!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laramie River Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jelm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laramie River Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Jelm
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“The best vacation of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I could not wait for this vacation to come. A week of horseback riding at the LRR, in the mountains, with my daughter and friends was a dream come true. The scenery was as beautiful as the pictures on the website. The wildlife...spectacular. The food...amazing. Friendships made at the ranch....terrific. The horses were gorgeous, fun and nicely matched to the needs of the riders. And the opportunity to disconnect from the world and really enjoy a vacation, was priceless. Thank you for such a great time at your ranch. We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the lodge. Nice rooms, simple, cookies in your room every day and convenient for enjoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My parents chose the LRR to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. The entire staff assisted all of us in many surprises. We all had a fabulous week. The horseback riding was awesome, food delicious, and the staff felt like family. A horse is selected for you based on your experience and size by Krista and a thorough orientation is given by Bill. Natalie and Brian are great too. It is a perfect ranch for families of all ages. We had kids from 7-21 and all levels of riding experience. The cousins could all ride together. The wranglers were engaging and helpful. Truly a family friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Kim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went into our trip thinking it was a once in a lifetime and left thinking, "when can we get back here?" We were pretty much "city slickers," but after three days of great lessons and fun rides, we all loved doing trotting and loping and couldn't wait for an all-day ride up into the mountains! The horses were matched so nicely to each family member's personality and ability level. We fell in love with our horses. We also loved getting to know the wranglers, cooks, service staff. Everyone is incredibly friendly and outgoing. They make time to get to know guests and spend time talking with everyone. Aside from riding, we loved the hiking, fishing, playing games, and the FOOD was amazing!!! The naturalist on staff is quite knowledgeable about the surroundings and leads great hikes. We had glimpses of moose, beavers, eagles, beautiful birds, antelope, and other wildlife. The owners, Bill and Krista, and the managers, Natalie and Brian, spend the time and energy every day making sure every guest has what he or she needs for the day. They talk with the guests and get to know everyone. The place has a warm family feel that is incredibly special. The beauty and peace of the surroundings is overwhelming. We had the best vacation ever and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had such a fantastic time, something for everyone! The kids went on 2 nature walks with the naturalist and had a great time. They made friends and exchanged addresses to write. When our 9 year old wasn't up for the morning ride he stayed with the children's counselor and had a wonderful time grooming his horse, feeding the baby animals, and learning to play cribbage. Meals were awesome, hospitality could not be beat, and the other guests were great people and we enjoyed getting to know them. Fly fishing, tubing, evening activities, and a wonderful cabin all to ourselves. We could not possibly have hoped, or asked, for more!! Thanks for what our 9 & 10 year old call "the adventure of a lifetime!"

Room Tip: get a cabin, they're fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ever since reading "My Friend Flicka" (Mary O'Hara) as a child I have wanted to visit Wyoming and Colorado and visit a ranch, and our holiday at Laramie River Ranch was all that we hoped it would be, and more. The setting and scenery are spectacular and the horses well trained and cared for and the rides take in a variety of different landscapes. The horses are carefully matched to the guests and safety is a top priority. Many people chose to wear cowboy hats for the whole western experience but hard hats are available and wearing a hard hat feels fine, and you can still wear a cowboy hat around the ranch. It is the quality of the welcome that make this ranch special and the attention to the needs of all of their guests.We went as a couple and although there were a number of families staying, we still had the chance to ride out in all adult company as well as with families if we chose to,and on some rides there was just the two of us. Bill and Krista, Brian and Natalie and all of the wranglers and staff are friendly and great company which make rides and mealtimes events to look forward to. Coming from the UK we were lucky enough to meet guests from all over America which added so much to this holiday experience. We look forward going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our first time to a Dude Ranch and we are very beginner riders. Natalie and Brian along with Krista and Bill matched all of us with perfect horses. It was so wonderful to have our son able to be outdoors running with other kids and not asking for any technology! He fell in love with riding and fly fishing. All of the staff is so wonderful. You feel like family by the end of the week.
We will always treasure our memories and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge and really enjoyed being right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're looking for a dude ranch that is comfortable to stay, beautiful, well cared for horses, a warm and friendly staff and great food, look no further....book your trip at the Laramie River Dude Ranch. From the moment we arrived, Natalie and Brian warmly greeted us and gave us a tour of the ranch and oriented us to all of the activities and then walked us to our cabin. We can't say enough about them - you'd never know this was their 'job'. There's the perfect amount of "things to do" or "do nothing at all" and enjoy the incredible scenery. We were thoroughly impressed with horses, the wranglers, riding trails and cleanliness of the entire ranch. Bill, Krista and their boys were a joy to be with and get to know. The 'family-style' meals provided everyone with an opportunity to get to know each other. We saw lots of animals on our rides - from moose, pronghorn, elk and even a bear! Relaxing in the hot tub at night gazing at the beautiful stars was a perfect way to end the evenings. We hope to be back soon! One of the best vacations we've ever had!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jelm
16.4 mi away
Vista de la Luna Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Laramie River Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laramie River Dude Ranch

Property: Laramie River Dude Ranch
Address: 25777 County Road 103, Jelm, WY 82063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jelm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Jelm
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laramie River Dude Ranch is a destination resort located in Colorado's Rocky Mountains along the pristine Laramie River. Fill your days with horseback riding, cattle penning, fly fishing, and family oriented activities with our naturalist. We’ll fill your nights with country western music, star gazing, square dancing, and conversation. Our small size allows us to provide you with a big dose of western hospitality. Retire to your historic lodge room or riverside log cabin - homemade cookies in every room. Make the Laramie River Ranch your family tradition. Three, four, and seven night stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laramie River Dude Ranch Wyoming/Jelm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing