We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkway Inn
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is always hard to find affordable accommodations in Jackson (by affordable, I mean hotels with rates closer to $200 than $300) and it was even harder considering that I did my bookings less than a month before my planned arrival date. I think I believe I went from property to property and it took a couple of days to find the Parkway Inn. The Parkway Inn's rate was slightly over $200 with AAA discount. However, considering that the Motel 6 was selling for $130 a night for a room, I think that the Parkway Inn, with all its ammenities, was actually a bargain.

I would describe the Parkway Inn as a hybrid between a motel and a hotel. Each room has two doors, when leading to the parking lot, just like a motel, and the other leading to the internal corridor, where you can reach the reception and dining room. So if you ignore the internal door, you have your motel, but if you ignore the external door, you have those old hotels with walpaper and antiques in the corridor.

Rooms have good size, well appointed, decorated with wallpaper and antique furnishings. It has a kind of B&B feeling but you know it is a hotel room. Bathroom are on the small size but very functional. Rooms are middle of the road: not freshly renovated but also no urgency to be renovated. Wifi was ok. I did not experience big problems as reported by some other reviewer. The signal I got was about the same for most of the hotels we stayed for this trip: a bit on the weaker side but enough to read email and surf the net.

We were particularly fond of the indoor pool and spa area. There is a pool designed for lap swimming (one lane) which I found to be a plus. There are also two hot tubs in the same area, one of them seem to have aromatic minerals mixed in the water. This part of the inn almost feel like recently build.

The hotel offer continental breakfast. The options may be limited, and no hot items are offered, but I thought what was offered was on the better side: the coffee was stronger, the bagels seemed larger and fresher than the others we tried in other properties, and they have yogurt, milk and cereal. We thought it was pretty nice.

A lot has been said about its location so I will just reinforce. The location is ideal - far enough from the town square to be quiet yet close enough so we can easily walk to the shops and restaurants.

I was going to rate the service average, since most of our interactions were with younger people (probably students doing summer job) who may lack some experience than a more experienced concierge may help. Still, they were friendly and helpful. However, by the day we were leaving, we met someone who looked like either the owner or the manager, and she was extremely hospitable. She gave us detailed directions and offered to dispose an ice chest that we brought a week before and that we did not want to check as luggage for our flight back. This saved us a trip to a Goodwill store and some valuable time on our vacation.

There are a few negatives that I should point out. First, no microwave or mini-fridge in the room, but we did not need at that point of our trip. Second, rooms tend to be connected so it is very easy to hear your neighbor through the (locked) connecting door. This may be the biggest issue with the property but it did not bothered us too much, maybe we were lucky with our neighbors. Third, some parts of the bed look a bit fragile and were dismanteling. This is a cosmetic issue but I think in these types of properties, attention to details is fundamental. Finally, maybe it was available somewhere but we could not find pool towels so we had to run back to our rooms to minimizing drippings. No big deal as Jackson can be hot during the summer.

All in all, we had a great stay in Jackson, and liked the Parkway Inn very much. It had all the ammenities we wanted/needed and whatever missing was far from being deal breakers. My formal rate would be 4.5 but give the nice interaction with the owner (I think) to solve my cooler problem I am rounding it up to 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    174
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
166
257
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel has nice rooms with antiquey furnishings and decent toIletries. Just off the center of town, it's quiet yet within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the square. The only thing I would fault it with is that the bathrooms are so small, you couldn't swing a cat (like a railway latrine) and the wifi is terrible. If you need to be hooked up to the Internet then all you will experience is frustration. It's not really Abraham, but well located and has a nice, but small pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netshopper1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We recently vacationed in the Jackson Hole (Grand Tetons and Yellowstone) area. We began our vacation by staying in Jackson at the Parkway Inn. We stayed two nights at the beginning of our vacation, and one night at the end. Both of our rooms were absolutely beautifully decorated. Not your generic hotel room with ugly furnishings. Both rooms were lovely, clean, and spotless. The staff that we dealt with were friendly, helpful and genuinely glad to have us there. This is a family owned business and they clearly care about their customers. The continental breakfast was served in a charming room off the lobby, and the outside of the hotel is well taken care of as well. Hanging baskets overflowing with gorgeous flowers, and just generally clean and well kept up. If you are going to Jackson, stay at the Parkway Inn! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyGrace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was a little worried about this hotel given that most of Jackson Hole was sold out on July 3rd and July 4th. However, we were very pleasantly surprised by this little gem. This rooms were spacious, very nice (appear to be brand new or newly renovated) and extremely clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They provide a complimentary breakfast that is adequate (not great but perfectly fine). They also provide complimentary beverage and cookies in the Lobby every day. The beds were extremely comfortable and we slept quite well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My father and I took a long-planned road trip to many U.S. Parks -- we stayed for two nights at the Parkway Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a wonderful lodge and the staff was very helpful and courteous, the atmosphere was relaxing, and it was great being able to take a swim and use the sauna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael20001321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel. We were able to walk around town and yet had a short mountain right behind the hotel, which made it seem like we were in a more rustic area. Due to our schedule we weren't able to enjoy the lovely indoor pool and large hot tubs. The room was quite comfortable--especially the bed!! The prices are quite high in Jackson and this was no exception. A nice continental breakfast. I would definitely love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have stayed here in the past and made a recent trip to Jackson 4th of July 2012. The place is quint, comfortable and quite. Only four blocks from Town Square and the hustle and bustle. Can’t say more about the people. My finance needed a stamp for a post card, told her that the front desk might have one. Not only did they give her one but the receptionist took the card to the post office for her. That’s the type of reception you can expect, besides this is Wyoming and people are all that way friendly and helpful.
Don’t pass it up if you are heading this direction.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying more than a day look into the one bedroom suites. A little extra money but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.4 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Inn

Property: Parkway Inn
Address: 125 N Jackson St, PO Box 494, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Jackson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street just 3 blocks from Jackson Hole’s Historic Town Square, tucked among aspen and pine trees, stands The Parkway Inn of Jackson Hole. Locally owned and operated, The Parkway offers guests a friendly mix of modern comfort, old world charm, and warm hospitality for over 30 years, The Parkway Inn is just a short drive from Grand Teton National Park and the Jackson Hole Ski Resort, and less than an hour from Yellowstone National Park.Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast in our fireplace lounge. Smell the freshly brewed coffee and sample a variety of cereals, bagels, granola, fresh fruits, yogurt and baked goods each morning.Join us in the afternoon for ice cold lemonade and cookies in the summer, or hot apple cider in the winter. Meet with friends and family and enjoy the board games and collection of books provided.Stroll along the wooden sidewalks of the historic town square and visit the unique shops, nightspots, and restaurants. Looking for artwork? Galleries galore. From classic to contemporary, there are over 25 art galleries featuring all of the big names in Western art.After a day of skiing, fly fishing, hiking, river rafting, sightseeing, or shopping, take a soothing soak in one of our two spas, go for a refreshing swim in the lap pool, or relax in one of our saunas and be ready for one of Jackson’s great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing