We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 3 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 9, 2006

I just stayed 5 nights at Alpine House and I have to say was a little disappointed with the place(though the nearby parks were wonderful). The location is excellent on the edge of Jackson and 10 minutes from Grand Tetons NP. I stayed in a Queen room which was small but clean. There is a tremendous amount of noise around the lodge all day long. My main complaint was the service. Most of the staff looked unhappy and tired. It is quite impersonal. Most importantly, visitors' happiness is not high on their list of priorities. The woman at the front desk who checked me in was less than friendly. The maid left one bar of soap to be shuttled between shower and sink and didn't replenish it when it ran out. She also left the door open after cleaning the room one day so that anyone would have been able to walk into the room. Luckily I didn't leave anything valuable in the room. The check in is at 4pm but they kick you out at 11am. Don't even bother to ask for a later check out like at noon when most places have check out. All in all I would find somewhere else to stay so you can truly enjoy the national parks.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 337 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the Alpine House in May 2006 and stayed in room 118, which is a corner queen room upstairs and has "decks" on two sides. One deck, the one looking at the building across the street, has two plastic chairs on it. The other, barely wide enough for one person to stand on, has a pretty view of the mountains.

The room and building have a number of maintenance problems -- the window in our room didn't close or lock properly, making the room quite drafty. It'd be downright cold in Jackson's harsh winters. Bathroom's toilet paper holder was falling down. Staff don't check the deck doors when cleaning, and we found on our last morning that our room had been unlocked our entire stay. Wireless internet was down when we were there (a good thing for us, but could irritate others). According to our welcomer, the "Monday Morning Gremlins" had not yet attacked the hot tub, which is apparently as flaky as the wireless and the paint in the bathrooms.

Be aware when you stay at the Alpine House that there is construction in 3 directions from surrounding the Alpine House that begins at 7 AM and continues until 6 PM. I'm talking front-end loaders and small hand tools literally all day long, and because you're surrounded by construction, there just aren't any truly quiet rooms. At night you'll listen to water gushing sounds from other occupied rooms. If you are planning to spend significant time in the hotel during the day, you will definitely want to stay somewhere else, though I will say the library is cozy and quiet in the daytime.

As stated in every review, Chef Eric is excellent, but you should know that he's not there every day. We had some gal with about 4 earrings (not located in her ears) cook breakfast the first day, and it was honestly like eating a McDonald's breakfast burrito decorated with mushrooms and a twig of mint.

The Alpine House is an "almost" excellent location -- better than most, but growing lazy, and far less than what I expected from the gushing reviews here. The staff are good, but getting sloppy with maintenance and how they introduce guests to the premises. There's just no excuse to finding while being guided to your room that the hot tub is broken constantly. The maintenance problems with this hotel will soon become serious, and without Chef Eric to hold people to the place by their stomachs, the place will fail quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ynnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Culver City, Ca
312
Reviewed May 20, 2006

Just spent 4 nights there. Had a wonderful time. Chef Erick is excellent. We were very well taken care of. We were walking distance to the center of town. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would definitely return. The dry sauna was nice, as are the complimentary use of the bicycles. The cookies, and cakes, and tea were a great touch. The beds were incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Alpine House for 4 nights in January. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - great staff, great breakfasts and a really warm friendly environment. The nice thing about it is that you get a chance to interact with the other guests over breakfast or in the lounge at night. On our last day it seemed that we knew everyone in the breakfast room, so much that the "new" guests must of wondered who we were.

One thing, try not to get the last room at the top of the stairs. The chef fills up the ice bucket from the ice machine at around 6.30am. OK, if you want to hit the slopes early, but not great otherwise.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaglemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

What an awesome place to stay! I'd call it more of a little inn than a Bed and Breakfast. The most warm, friendly and inviting accomodations in Jackson Hole. Two former olympic athletes run the place and the name fits as it has a real alpine feel. Each morning you wake up to incredible breakfast smells like blueberry pancakes or cinnamon waffles. As you eat in the quaint dining room and lobby you chat and get to know the other guests and hear the plans for the day. After skiing in the afternoon nothing feels better than a dip in the hot tub with a snake river lager and talk about the runs or falls of the day. Enjoy a glass of wine in one of the quaint warm sitting areas/nooks or better yet carb up with a homemade cookie of the day which also fills the air with a scrumptious smell. Rooms are very clean with fitting decor. The staff is friendly and accomodating Can't say enough good things! OTHER Jackson suggestions.... Check out the Rendezvous Bistro off Broadway for dinner. A real locals place copied after a NY bistro and owned by a Hollywood producer. Everything from Sea Bass to Quail to meat loaf to a gormet grilled cheese. Nice bar scene too! ALSO for a break from the very challenging skiing of Jackson Hole head over the pass into Idaho and back into Wyoming to Targhee. Its a ski area on the backside of the Tetons from Jackson Hole and is a bit easier than JH but has incredible conditons, has very small crowds and is cheaper than JH. The 45 minute drive over is beautiful as well and you'll see a full view of the Grand Teton! ENJOY!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTidesMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Enjoyed our stay at the Alpine House. Everyone was friendly and the breakfast was great. Spent 3 nights there and found the location to be great for exploring Jackson and the Grand Tetons. It is also close to a great Italian restaurant Nania's I think was its name (that is close and if you ask everyone will know).

Stayed: June 2005
Thank zim1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
United Kingdom
730
Reviewed September 21, 2005

Comfortable, clean , light and airy; good breakfast with a choice of sweet or savoury dish. It is situated in the centre of Jackson so is an easy walk to shops and restaurants; There was some noise from building work in the small plot next door but this will only be temporary. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and would love to go back if in Jackson again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.2 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#9 of 40 in Jackson
761 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages

Address: 285 N Glenwood St, PO Box 1126, Jackson, WY 83001-8763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $161 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated walking distance from the Jackson Town Square, guests at the Alpine House have immediate access to all Jackson has to offer. Excellent dining, shopping, art galleries and museums are at your fingertips, not to mention Grand Teton National Park only a short drive away. World-class recreation activities abound in both summer and winter, including fishing, hiking, mountain biking, alpine and Nordic skiing, snowboarding, and snowmobiling. Free bikes are available for cruising around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine House Hotel Jackson
The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing