We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience”

Bear Witness Safari
Ranked #33 of 85 Tours in Jackson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Your Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park wildlife and scenic tour will be guided by local, world class, wildlife photographers, which will provide you with the best chance for that once in a lifetime photographic opportunity. Our mature guides will provide the knowledge for you to appreciate all that the park has to offer, from breath taking vistas to sighting wildlife. A light breakfast wil
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Yellowstone and GrandTeton National Parks offer numerous tours and you might be tempted to go with one of the larger companies that has hundreds of reviews That would definitely be a mistake. We recently booked Bear Witness for both our excursion to Yellowstone and Grand Teton. Jim was absolutely amazing. He went out of his way to make sure that we had an experience that we would not soon forget. His vast knowledge of the parks ensured that we were never caught behind the rest of the tourists and always had the best locations for picnics, restroom breaks, and of course photo ops. By the way, the gourmet lunches he prepared were hands down some of the best food we had while in Jackson Hole and we at the Four Seasons and Snake River Grill. Jim has a true love of the area and for the wildlife. He is truly an amazing person that provided us with an exceptional experience.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guide jim"
in 4 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 6 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 7 reviews
"mule deer"
in 7 reviews
"safe distance"
in 3 reviews
"half day tour"
in 4 reviews
"loves his job"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife sightings"
in 3 reviews
"bison"
in 7 reviews
"day adventure"
in 2 reviews
"exceeded our expectations"
in 2 reviews
"grand teton national park"
in 3 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"black beans"
in 3 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We have been to many National Parks over that last few years, but not one as large as Yellowstone. We chose this tour so all of us in our family could enjoy it and not spend most of our time with our eyes glued to the road. Jim taught us how to spot wildlife, took us to the highlights of the park, explained the geological history of the area, and cooked an outstanding lunch! Very relaxing, informative trip which maximized our one day we had in Yellowstone. Would definitely recommend, and we will consider booking Jim in the future for either a Grand Teton tour or a winter tour.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I booked a last minute trip to Jackson for my daughter and I and happened upon Bear Witness Safari and am SO glad I did. Jim made this quick trip an unforgettable experience for us. We opted for the Yellowstone day tour and Jim spent just at 14 hours showing us all the possible highlights! He was very patient with us, taking time to teach us all about spotting the various wild animals, to making sure we got the best picture as well as explaining things to an 8 year old in a way she could understand. Jim made this mom feel quite at ease and completely pleased with our experience.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear W, General Manager at Bear Witness Safari, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

We are so glad you had such a great time with Bear Witness Safari Company. Seeing that Grizzly Bear in Yellowstone was absolutely a heart pounding experience. Your photograph of that Grizzly is fantastic. Thanks so much for a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

We went out on a tour of Yellowstone with Jimmy and boy does he know that place like the back of his hand. We saw so many things we wouldn't have seen without him, that guy has a great eye for spotting wildlife, large and small. We saw moose, deer, bison and elk, but the best was when he spotted a bear in the woods. We waited a while and it finally came ou, so beautiful! We never would have seen that without him, he even showed us a little weasel. Jimmy loves his job and it shows.
Next time my family comes to visit I'm going to have him take us out to see the Tetons also, everyone said that seeing the bear was the highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear W, General Manager at Bear Witness Safari, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

I do love my job, and I try so hard to share my passion with all my guests. Thank you for your kind words. Witnessing a Bear and a Weasel in one day is over the top.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

In June of 2016, we visited Jackson Hole, Wyoming. It was our first trip to Wyoming and we booked a couple of tours with Bear Witness Safari.

We went on both the Sunset Grand Teton National Park Tour (Half Day Tour) and the Yellowstone Tour (Full Day Tour). This is NOT your typical bus tour! Instead, this is a private tour (i.e. just you and your guide)—it is akin to having a private chauffeur, gourmet chef, expert tour guide, wildlife photographer, and flight attendant all packaged into one person. In our case, that person was Jim - witty, soft spoken, and even keeled. Jim’s top three priorities are the safekeeping of his guests, reveling in the natural beauty of the parks, and without hesitation—total respect for the guidelines that help protect and preserve the plants and wildlife inhabiting that wondrous landscape.

As you would expect from a professional guide, Jim is very knowledgeable and knows the place like the back of his hand—every tourist destination, every road, and every recent wildlife sighting. But there are other aspects to his knowledge of the parks: he knows the best way to quickly get in and out of a typically crowded tourist stop; he knows where the cleanest restrooms can be found; he knows the best location to quickly and efficiently prepare a delicious gourmet picnic; and he even knows which gift shops are the best for the picking.

Jim is also a talented wildlife photographer and he has the photos to show for it. However, he is also very interested in you getting the shots that you want—whether they are landscape, wildlife, or snapshots—he is always anxious to help. He will even use your camera to take a photo of you in front of a sign or landmark.

When Jim dropped us off at the end of our final tour, it felt like we were saying goodbye to an old friend. He was a big part of our experience there in Jackson Hole, and he deserves credit for helping make our trip one of the best we’ve ever had. So a big thank you to him and to Bear Witness Safari, and we hope that we can make it out there again some day soon.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Witness Safari also viewed

 

Been to Bear Witness Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing