We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A terrific Yellowstone guide company!

We hired Backcountry to guide us for 3 and a half days in Yellowstone. Our guide was... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Nicole M
Yellowstone National Park

We chose to do the Yellowstone National Park on a tour, very last minute. Our hotel concierge... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
RRBB11
,
Goa, India
via mobile
Read all 59 reviews
  
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
51
3
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
51
3
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset tour grand teton national park back roads delicious picnic lunch walking encyclopedia bison private tour teton tour saw elk spotting scope old faithful great tour jenny lake mule deer knowledgeable guide highly recommend this company full day tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We used this company for a full day tour of Yellowstone and a full day tour of the Tetons. We received excellent service and will use this company when we return to the area. We couldn’t ask for better attention describing the area and special features, locating animals, helping to assist with taking pictures/videos, providing a delicious picnic lunch, and very friendly and personable guides. Thank you Gus and Bevin!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank MLM718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a terrific sunset tour with Jacob as our guide. He picked us up at the door of our rented condo. The tour started in the open terrain on back roads near Kelly, WY and concluded at sunset through the high country in the areas between Two Oceans Lake and Jenny Lake. That order of tour destinations put us in a place where the sunset in the mountains was especially beautiful. We saw elk, deer, and antelope in the open field areas. He provide binoculars and had a powerful viewing scope to help us photo animals. Jacob was great explaining the history and geology of what we saw as well details about the animals. The ride near trees in the high country late in the day was hoped to increase the odds at finding a bear or other animal that hides from the heat of the day. The views were spectacular. Jacob was fun. Some of the things he offered as other activities helped give us ideas on the remaining time in Jackson.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Steve159654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked two tours with you guys on our stay here in Jackson Hole. I just want to say that your guides are phenomenal!! Jacob was our guide for our sunset tour of the Grand Tetons and he was so knowledgeable and personable. Brad was our guide for our day tour to Yellowstone and we couldn’t have asked for a better guide. He was a “walking encyclopedia” as my husband put it!

Thank you for making our trip wonderful!
Keith & Joy Woods

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank j0yw00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

The Backcountry Safari package to Yellowstone was a full day and was amazing. Our knowledgeable guide, Frazer, was perfect - interesting, funny, accommodating, and willing to tolerate our quirky teens’ humor. He directed us to all of the major sites, went out of his way to spot animals, and answered countless questions.

We also did the half day Teton animal safari, which was maybe our favorite experience of the week. We finally spotted a coveted mother black bear and her cubs. Frazer helped us video through the spotting scope, allowing us to share with friends and family. Backcountry Safaris are well worth the expense. I am so glad we scheduled with them and recommended highly!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank shannonputman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We had a wonderful day with our guide, Jacob, all through the Grand Teton National Park from the Jackson Hole area. Saw a lot of antelope, bison, and deer. The scenery was the star attraction, though. Beautiful views of the mountains, and the lakes and rivers. Also stopped at several historic sights where early settlers lived. Backcountry provided a fresh picnic lunch at an incredible picnic area. We were in a van, but stopped often to experience the sights and walk around.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ida257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie W, Manager at Backcountry Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Ida257,

Thank you so much for providing this review. We really appreciate satisfied customers providing helpful insight. Jacob is an incredible guide, and I am very happy to hear you thought the same. Our lunches are delicious and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the picnic! We hope to take you on another tour in the future. Thank you!

Sincerely, Rob
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews