We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different way to see Jackson Hole”

Wyoming Balloon Company
Ranked #49 of 72 Tours in Jackson
Attraction details
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Different way to see Jackson Hole”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although I was a little anxious about the balloon ride I soon realized that I had nothing to worry about. It was an amazing experience floating above the valley, spotting elk and deer along the way. Our pilot was great - very experienced and good company. You have to get up early to report for the balloon ride, but it was well worth it - a fabulous start to the day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    2
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best views are from above”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

An amazing and enjoyable flight with views of the Grand Tetons and Jackson Hole. Our pilot was very knowledgeable of the area and even 'steered' us over to a herd of elk.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“not our favorite- by a long shot”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family of 6 took grandma(65) for her first balloon ride. It was all she wanted for her 65 bday. The rest of us were less excited but figured we could tough it out for her.

We were picked up at our location on time and driven to the field 5 minutes away.
When we arrived we were given a quick run down on the safety procedures of the balloon inflation process and how to climb in the balloon.

5 of us were crammed in one quarter of the balloon-2 adults and 3 kids. While grandma- luckily- was next to us with another couple. The balloon ride was HOT-- Cramped and LOUD! The propane tanks are really loud- the pilot offered some ear plugs but didn’t have enough for every one- Also the propane is HOT!! Every time the pilot had to blast the propane it blasted down on us too.

My daughter and I didn’t enjoy it much- but we don’t really like heights so we weren’t expecting to enjoy it- but the cramped area and the hotness made it very unpleasant for everyone. My mother (grandma) who expected it to be the highlight of her trip said “it was just ok” but “too noisy”. She definately expected to like it more.

The ride seemed to go on forever. We were only flying over a ranch near the mountains and there are only so many views you can see. We have never been on a balloon before and we were expecting a quiet ride near the mountains. The only nature we saw were the cows on the ranch below us.

If you are expecting a quiet, peaceful serene experience please know- it is not that. Some people may still like it- but we would not recommend it. Also- the gondola may be a generous size for the industry- however, we found it uncomfortably cramped.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank travelbugs920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Enjoy a early morning Floating along the Tetons”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Today my wife and I enjoyed a flight with the Wyoming Balloon Company. Our captain, Richard, was very entertaining and full of information throughout the trip. Air ballooning is very peaceful. On the negative, the entire trip is conducted over a 2 mile by 3 mile cattle ranch along the Snake River and the mountains. My only other balloon experience was in the country and we saw a lot of wild life. That was missing on this trip. The other issue was that Richard did not rotate the basket, so people on the riverside or mountain side never has the opportunity to view the other side. Baloon trips are costly to support the crew, equipment and landing fees to property owners, but its well worth it in the right environment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravlerNaplesFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My first experience was encountered with a hot air balloon! It is not scary but actually interesting and cool! You see a different perspective of the ground below you! Our guide was so helpful and nice- His name was Richard! They provided orange juice and other drinks at the end and gave us certificates. If you have never tried you should- it is an experience you will never forget!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pinknblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyoming Balloon Company also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Wyoming Balloon Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing