We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, convenient place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kudar Motel & Cabins
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“A nice, convenient place to stay.”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed in one of their cabins and found it to be everything we needed. We were pleased to find both a fridge and a microwave in the room. The motel isn't new but is well kept up. Our only complaint is something beyond the control of the motel. They are located next door to a public parking lot. The city cleans that lot each morning at about 7 AM with a very loud machine. If you plan on sleeping later than that, ask for a cabin that is away from that lot.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    47
    18
    11
See reviews for
56
85
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I love Kudars! not fancy, but guess what...we only sleep there. We go to Jackson for the beauty of the area and town. Spend little time in the room. This time we stayed in the attached rooms to the office. worked great for us, king size bed, fridge and microwave. Clean bedding and towels each day. $85/night, can't beat it in Jackson. $169.00 across the street! I can buy a lot of shampoo and breakfasts with that! We enjoyed our stay. Parking lot was full each night with really nice vehicles. and the no vacancy sign was on 3 of 5 nights we were there. With the savings in hotel bills, I bought a couple of really nice jewelry pieces in town. Thanks Kudars

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank msesroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I also recently stayed in cabin #16. After reading previous reviews, I was surprised to read "So much potential's" review. That person wrote just about verbatim what I was
going to write. So many things were wrong with the room that I made a list before I left. In addition to what "So much potential" wrote, the paneled walls that also probably date back to the 50's or 60's were void of even ONE picture! Of all the beautiful scenery in the area, I would have thought that at least one Teton-related picture would have had a place on a wall. Also, with the obvious electrical outlet danger and also the fact that there was no chain lock on the door, I did not feel safe in the room. I woke up shortly after falling asleep to a noise that sounded like someone trying to enter my cabin. I did not sleep well that night. At $100/night I expected to at least have a room with a phone in it. Curiously enough, there was a phone book!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobJoeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We also stayed in #16, and were a little put off by several things at the Kudar. The cabin we received was actually not a single but a double, connected to another room. I would recommend requesting a single when booking, as we were awoken two mornings out of three by the residents next door, who were not being particularly loud. We could hear EVERY WORD of their conversations, as well as the programs playing on their TV. There was also a peculiar smell in the cabin, as if they sprayed air freshener to mask another, more suspect, smell. Yes, it was definitely dusty, very rustic, and had dangerous looking outlets.
On the bright side, it was in a GREAT location (try "The Merry Piglets" a Mexican cantina just a block away!), we had a lovely picnic on the lawn, and the rate was reasonable. I might stay again, if I could choose the cabin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The only thing the Kudar Motel has is potential. It is in an outstanding location just 2 blocks from the town square and the grounds are a shady quiet sanctuary tucked away from the street. The good things end there. We stayed in cabin #16. Upon entry, I noticed no light fixture on a single light bulb over a sink that is circa 1950. The bathroom was small, dirty and there was no shampoo. The room didn't look like it had been dusted in weeks and there was a hole in one of the bedspreads. We actually got a laugh out of a sign that was on the door saying "Wake-up calls available upon request," because there was no phone in the room. Not sure how that would work. Finally, the air conditioner, and the sconces over the beds were plugged into a 3-way splitter into an antiquated electrical outlet. Not a very safe arrangement in an outlet that is likely barely meeting code.

The other good thing was that we only paid $100 in a very expensive town. In any other place that cabin wouldn't have gotten $50. My advice to the Kudar's is to spend some money renovating their cabins, and charge 20 or 30 bucks more. They would still be on the low end of price in Jackson and would have a gem in a top-notch location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpinionatedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My family has been coming to Jackson, Wy since 1965 and I have always wanted to stay "in town" to get the town feel; we always stay out in the Park-Grand Teton Nat Park...my sister stayed with Kudar years ago during an emergency and they treated her well. We managed to get a friday and saturday night with only a week or two notice and had a wonderful time staying in an old log cabin, complete with shower, microwave and refrigerator. What more could you want? The setting is park-like, with large trees to shade you, and picnic tables, and very laid back. Yes the interior is a bit old, but it's not the Hilton, it's a cabin in jackson, so enjoy it! I will definitely come back and stay, many times, and we are already making plans for the next trip to GTNP and kudars!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

In short, they should paint the rooms, change the colors, change the carpets and this would be a prime location.

Bed is confortable, car is right in front ur room.
It's basic, doesn't smell very nice, front desk is friendly, the summary is that it costs 85$, it's maybe worth 50$ but the location is brilliant, everything is within minutes and its small.

They would benefit from a refurbishment although we could stay there again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
4 Winds
4 Winds
#31 of 40 in Jackson
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#14 of 40 in Jackson
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Inn
Golden Eagle Inn
#32 of 40 in Jackson
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.1 mi away
White Buffalo Club - Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alpine Motel
Alpine Motel
#29 of 40 in Jackson
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kudar Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudar Motel & Cabins

Property: Kudar Motel & Cabins
Address: 260 N Cache St, Jackson, WY 83001-8682
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Kudar Motel Jackson
Kudar Hotel Jackson
Kudar Motel & Cabins Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing