We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, basic accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kudar Motel & Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kudar Motel & Cabins
Save
You added Kudar Motel & Cabins to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Jackson
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, basic accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited Jackson for both vacation and some business. We picked the Kudar because we had read pretty decent reviews, the location was mint, and the price was really reasonable $89 for motel room, $109 for cabin. I was slightly concerned when I booked the reservation because they didn't take a credit card to hold the room so it was a bit of a, fingers crossed, that we will have the room for us when we arrive. Also because when we booked, the older gentleman (who was very very nice) kept repeating the dates back to us incorrectly. But we called in advance to confirm and were able to upgrade to a cabin which was a welcome surprise. And they were very accommodating with the arrangements. It was very easy to find the Kudar and when we arrived we were greeted nicely by the gentleman running the office, despite how busy he was. When we got to our cabin, the door was wide open, which was a bit unnerving. We discovered that the door didn't close properly. But we ended up getting it to work. Inside it was very clean. There's a small desk and an end table on one side of the bed. The sink is oddly outside the bathroom which was a bit weird. The bathroom is small but very clean, as was the shower. There are zero amenities so stock up on travel sized shampoos cause you ain't gettin any here. There are little bars of soap but that's it. There was a fridge and a microwave which was helpful. The air conditioning was a bit wonky and loud but it worked. The one really unfortunate thing was that the bed was incredibly uncomfortable--to the point that I had to go buy a mattress pad from Kmart. Now, I should point out that I have had multiple orthopedic surgeries and back injuries. So I'm super sensitive. But my boyfriend can sleep on a rock and he was completely miserable on that bed as well. The second night with the mattress pad was tolerable. But if you do have sleep issues, or back issues, this is not the place for you. If not, it's very clean, great value, good size, and stellar location. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: The cabins are better than the motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samarasnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
50
66
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Second time we've stayed there. This time we brought friends. The bed was comfortable, room was nice. Bathroom could be updated. We stayed in the motel, last time a cabin. Liked the cabin better. Staff was very nice. We stayed here because of the price and location. They don't have many extras, including no hair dryer. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on the room and still have a clean place to stay. Found that with Kudar. Would stay again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdown
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I felt like the rooms were a little pricey for what you get ($130 for a cabin). Lacking in the cleaning department for sure, but the worst thing about the stay was the shower. Water barely trickled out of the showerhead and you have two temperature choices...scalding hot or ice cold. Staff was extremely nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arktraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 1 night in July 2013, we found the reception welcoming, friendly & helpful. We stayed in a cabin which was rustic, and very roomy, although could have been a little cleaner, some tasty cobwebs, but I realise that due to the construction of the cabins it must be very hard to deep clean. The beds were comfy, and everything in the room worked as it should. The cost ($128 inc tax) for a walk in we thought was very reasonable considering this is Jackson! The location is superb, you can stroll around town, eat, drink and sight see and never be more than a few minutes from your cabin. It is great when on a fly drive to be able to park directly outside your cabin as this makes loading/un-loading so much easier. All in all we would return here if we visit Jackson again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, WY
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Kudar is family-run, simple, rustic yet comfortable, close to downtown, and a throwback to earlier motor courts.

You can park directly in front of your room or cabin for an easy load-out and load-in. You can leave your car parked at your room while you stroll the few blocks into Jackson to enjoy the shopping, restaurants, town square, museum, summer theater, cool bookstore, and people-watching. When you leave the motel, you can turn right to be on the main road into Grand Teton NP. A couple blocks down to the right is a convenience store, while across the street is the newly-renovated local museum.

Ask for a room or cabin toward the back of the property to be away from the main avenue. But even then, things quiet down on that road in the evening so it should be quiet. Some of the guests might be revving motorcycles, but for the most part, all three times I've stayed there, it has been a quiet experience, while being close to bustling Jackson. Jackson is an expensive town--it's a town where the average price of a home is a million dollars, where Harrison Ford resides, it's to WY what Aspen is to Colorado--so be prepared for higher-than-average prices in the town. But when I stayed at the Kudar, it felt like a good deal for Jackson in the summer season at 80-something bucks a night. The Kudar isn't open in the winter, if I'm not mistaken.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, request a cabin. Ask for a room or cabin toward the back of the property. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farr West
Level Contributor
222 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stay at the Kudar Motel every time we go to Jackson. The staff are always friendly, the cabins are clean, and the price is right. It's close to the town square where all the action is- shopping, art galleries, the park, etc. There is a grassy area with picnic tables in the center, across from the cabins. Very nice for eating a quick lunch, or playing games in the evening. We've been staying here for years, and don't plan to change!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the cabins, but have never had a problem in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I give it 5stars for what is is-a relatively inexpensive but comfortable room with a great location in Jackson. Owner needed to change our room, but notified me ahead of time and offered a discount for the inconvenience. We were in a cabin-a bit small for 2 adults and 2 children, but with nice decor. Loved the large grassy area outside the cabins, as did the kids after a long days drive. Owner gave good suggestions for restaurants, and especially for ice cream! We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#27 of 42 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#21 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#5 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Inn
Golden Eagle Inn
#32 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Buffalo Club - Hotel
0.2 mi away
Anglers Inn
Anglers Inn
#24 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kudar Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudar Motel & Cabins

Property: Kudar Motel & Cabins
Address: 260 N Cache St, Jackson, WY 83001-8682
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Jackson
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Kudar Motel Jackson
Kudar Hotel Jackson
Kudar Motel & Cabins Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing