We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kudar Motel & Cabins
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived in Jackson Hole, WY completely exhausted after a long week of traveling through 3 states. We hadn't made a hotel reservation in advance and were afraid we wouldn't be able to find accommodations. Kudar Motel was the first motel we came to in town and when we saw the "vacancy" sign, I hopped out of the car and hurried into the lobby. The gentleman behind the counter took my reservation and went out to turn on the "No" in the "Vacancy" sign. We got the key to our room and immediately fell in love with this quaint little place! Nothing fancy about it but I felt like I had stepped back into time with the paneled walls and the matching desk and chair. The window unit was more than enough to cool the room (although it was hot outside). We loved staying there! I would absolutely stay there again! It's within walking distance of almost everything downtown and it has a little "park" with picnic tables and shade trees where you can have dinner or just sit down and rest after a long day. Loved this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamagirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Kudar's is somewhat of a downtown Jackson institution. It is in an excellent location within walking distance of town. You can leave your car parked at the motel and walk to restaurants, shops, etc. The prices are reasonable and they are usually full because this is probably the most affordable place in Jackson. The cabins are rustic and cute but not sound proofed. If someone is outside talking, you can hear every word. (The cabins are usually the rooms that are pictured.) The motel rooms are very dated, with dark plywood paneling, older floral bedspreads, a desk, two chairs and a bed with night stand. Dated tile bathrooms -- shower only. Ours needed some maintenance with caulking/rusting trim. Soap bars are provided but no toiletries, blow dryers or irons/ironing boards, etc. The room does have a small refrigerator, microwave and TV. It isn't fancy but it is reasonably comfortable. If you stay in the motel (instead of cabins) I recommend you try and get a room further from the street. Noise wasn't a problem but the flashing yellow light from the traffic signal on the corner flashes in the window all night long. (we were three rooms away from the office). WiFi is offered but signal is weak. You will need to go to office lobby to get a stronger signal. Staff was very pleasant. They don't take credit cards over the phone. They do operate on an honor system and don't require a deposit for your room reservation but if you are arriving late, you need to call them and let them know. They prefer cash but will accept Visa and Mastercard.

Room Tip: If staying in the motel (not a cabin) try and get a room further back from the street/office if on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanC747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way to Yellowstone. We got the last room, it was a LARGE one with a separate bedroom(queen bed) two queens in the adjoining room and a rollout bed. Full kitchen, dining area, living room and full bathroom. Very spacious, was wonderful to have so much room. Our room was in the back, in what looks like a house but is split into 2? rooms like ours. For $128 it was a great deal. Had all queen beds and a twin size roll out. And our closet was big enough to sleep in too! Also good tv channels and free wifi. Loved it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AutumnGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A motel within walking distance to town. We stayed in a cabin. It was spacious enough with 2 rooms, but would really be helped with an update. Bed coverings were old and stained which, even if they were clean (?), is not appealing. No bath amenities, which is fine for the price but the shower was tight and dark and towels very, VERY worn. Front desk staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rex89134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is a motel, not a resort or hotel. It was clean, we lucked out and got the last room on the day we rolled into town, there is a lovely strip of lawn between the motel and the cabins with picnic tables. Yes, the rooms are small, have no toiletries, have limited sound proofing and squirrels do run around the law and climb the trees. The microwave and dorm fridge were a plus. One reviewer complained about mosquitoes; I do believe there are mosquitoes in Wyoming, and it's unlikely the hosts can do much about those pests. At $89 the room was a fraction of the cost of other places, plus the 3 minute walk into town (just two blocks away) and free parking made it a good choice. The bed was a little hard for me. We stayed in room 25 with a king bed.

Room Tip: Room 25 with a king bed had a microwave and dorm fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet_in_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After looking at the pictures online of the Kudar Motel, we thought it would be a quaint trip down memory lane. Unfortunately, it was not quaint but dated with stained carpet and a tiny bath. The beds were clean, the room large and it was within walking distance to town. Our room was in a double cabin with the units separated by a door which was not sealed. We could see light under the door and heard everything the "neighbors" said. The price was low compared to others in Jackson but I would rather pay more than stay here again.

Room Tip: Try Flying Saddle Resort in Alpine, 23 miles down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

So, throughout our travels in 'the west' I'd been envisioning a cute little cabin-y spot with a nice bath and comfy bed. Little did I expect to find it in downtown Jackson Hole. We checked in with the sweetest possible lil' ole' man (loved him too) and spun around and around in our cabin, congratulating ourselves on having the luck to stumble upon this little gem. A cottage with bedroom, private bath in downtown JH for less than $150! Room was clean, water was hot and we walked around downtown after a full day cycling.

Room Tip: I think they're all good, but none have a mountain view. On a guess, nearer the office would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Whitakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
4 Winds
4 Winds
#31 of 40 in Jackson
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Buffalo Club - Hotel
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#33 of 40 in Jackson
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Inn
Golden Eagle Inn
#32 of 40 in Jackson
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kudar Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudar Motel & Cabins

Address: 260 N Cache St, Jackson, WY 83001-8682
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Kudar Motel Jackson
Kudar Hotel Jackson
Kudar Motel & Cabins Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing