We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most amazing places in Jackson---”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flat Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flat Creek Ranch
GreenLeadersGold level
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing places in Jackson---”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second year at the ranch. Despite living in Jackson- We are hooked! It is one of the best getaways around. It starts off a little " rocky and bumpy"- from the secluded road but once you are back at the ranch--- the peacefulness and amazing views just suck you in. This place is remote. There are no tv's, internet and your cell phone might be able to get or send a text once in awhile. That is why we love it!!! You can get away from all the craziness in your every day life. Joe, Marsha, Trey and Shelby are great hosts and the staff is super friendly. The food is amazing- The Cook prepared the most incredible meals--- probably some of the best meals we've ever had in Jackson. The cabins are perfect and private. Lots to do from hiking, learning to fly fish, kayak in the lake, ride horses, take a sauna or just sit back and read a book while listening to the creek flow downriver.
Definitely our highest recommendations. Great for family or couples. We will be back again next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marti_Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
54
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was our third visit at Flat Creek.
We love it.
It is serene, exciting, laid back, as close to nature, sun, sky, streams, wildlife you can get.
The staff are welcoming and helpful.
We love Joe, Marcia, Trey and Shelby.
The food is exceptional.
You can do as much or as little as you want.
Fishing is always good.
There are hikes to do, kayaking, horseback riding, fishing , it's all good.
We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Cal Cabin, but they all appear to be worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We returned to Flat Creek Ranch last week, only this time I brought my wife and daughter. My previous visit only included my son and a friend. As before the scenery is breathtaking, but no ranch owner can manage the scenery. What they can manage is the way they treat their guests, how they guide them on hikes and horseback rides and how they prepare the food they serve and how nice the rooms are. Flat Creek Ranch owners Joe and Marcia do all as good or better than anybody. Their employees are all cheery and helpful and understand their jobs - to make their guests feel at home. There is a wonderful story of how the ranch came to be and it can only be told appropriately by Joe and/or Marcia and it alone is worth a visit. The infamous road to the ranch is as awful as advertised but like a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow following a thunderstorm, it's worth the trip.
Dinners were exceptional. As good as any four star restaurant. All the meals were wonderful. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable.
This year the ranch is sold out, but my proposal. Call now and make a reservation for 2014. NOW!!!

Room Tip: The ranch only holds 12 people. Your cabin will be wonderful regardless the one you are assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe A, Owner at Flat Creek Ranch, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Don, This could be the continuation of a beautiful friendship . . . . To clarify: we're almost (but not quite) sold out for 2013. We have space for three nights starting August 30 and four nights starting September 16.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

In Late June, we had a fantastic four days at Flat Creek Ranch. Things start out bumpy (literally) as you travel a dirt road to the secluded location. Its remoteness however is what makes it so beautiful. In my opinion the web site photos do not do justice to the beauty of the terrain or the cabins for that matter. Staff did a great job making sure that a variety of activities were offered so people could tailor their day accordingly. From the horsebacking to the hiking to the fishing- all were well done. Other fun things were yoga, kayaking and even pitching horseshoes...and don't forget to enjoy the sauna!

The other area that exceeded my already lofty expectations was the food. The meals were varied and imaginative- all prepared quite well by their chefs.

We had not done a ranch type vacation before but it is hard to imagine there being a better experience than Flat Creek Ranch.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is Heaven on Earth!!! Everything about it is exeptional. This was my second trip in three years and on both visits my expecations have been exceeded. This place has it all -- great activities (Fly-fishing, horseback riding, hiking, canoeing, Yoga), great food (I think I gained 10 lbs while I was there--Don is a great chef) , great staff (Trey, Shelby, Ian, Chenae (sp?), Eliza, Alex, and the others), great history (listening to Joe and Marcia tell the history of the ranch is one of the highlights), wildlife (Eagle, geese, moose and even a bear sighting) and even a couple of great dogs (Rio and Paz).

The highlight of the trip was fishing in the creek with a couple of moose watching me.

I highly recommend using Trey as a fishing guide for 1/2 day and then venturing out on your own. I caught >20 fish two days in a row after Trey worked with me on the first day.

But the best part is it is really off the grid. With the very limited cell service and internet access, it allows you to enjoy just being there.

Room Tip: Judge's cabin was great..was able to open the window and listen to the creek while falling aslee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantoloking, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Where do you go for the best family vacation in the most beautiful setting. Great food, an amazing staff in your own private wilderness. Within a few short days you become part of the Flat Creek Family.

Plenty to do from hiking, fly fishing,canoeing, horseback riding or just relaxing taking in the beautiful scenery.

There is no place better to recharge your battery and get away from our busy lives. You can go alone and meet new friends or take the whole ranch with family or friends. There are 5 very nice
cabins but most of your day will be spent outdoors.

If you like the outdoors along with great food and great people, Flat Creek Ranch is definitely a place you want to go.

Room Tip: Every cabin is special in its own way - Each has it own charm and history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just got back from a girl's Wild West trip. Stayed at Flat Creek Ranch for three nights at the end of our trip. Absolutely amazing experience for my sister, daughter and I. My sister and I are in our young 40's and daughter is 11. My daughter loved the horseback riding and fly fishing best. I loved the fly fishing, hiking and seeing the moose and baby moose! We all loved the meals.
The staff makes this place A+ and Trea was wonderful teaching us how to fly fish.

Room Tip: Sissy's cabin is spacious enough for a full family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WPM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
12.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
11.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
11.2 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
11.6 mi away
Spring Creek Ranch
Spring Creek Ranch
#19 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
23.2 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flat Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Ranch

Property: Flat Creek Ranch
Address: Upper Flat Creek Rd, Jackson, WY 83002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat Creek Ranch - Your own private wilderness retreat ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Ranch Hotel Jackson
Flat Creek Hotel
Flat Creek Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing