We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know Before You Go”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spotted Horse Ranch
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Set your expectations realistically, this is a ranch. The rooms vary greatly, the beds have seen better days & the decor is attractive. The setting on a river is ideal and beautiful. If you don't ride or fish don't go unless you like being bored. The main lodge has a satelitte TV and a pool table. Thats it! When we were there the toilets weren't all working, light bulbs needed to be replaced, dead flies were never swept or vaccumed, the food was mediocre and not well planned. Many activities change before and after the "season" so make sure before you go. The staff is teriffic and go out of their way to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

From riding horses, fly fishing, whitewater rafting, hot springs, relaxing, socializing, you name it, if don't have a positive experience with this vacation there is definatly something wrong. The staff was so welcoming I felt I knew them forever. The food was great and usually had a variety. If there wasn't something you liked they where accommodating to make sure you were satisfied. They have there own Saloon with entertainment on some evening. All you need to bring is your clothes, but don't over pack they also have a washer & dryer with soap that you are welcome to use at anytime. The cabins are so clean & nicely decorated. I can't wait to return. I am trying to get a business group together for a week next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy55R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I cannot say enough about how great the Spotted Horse Ranch is. The wranglers and all of the staff are so friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable and give you anything you need. The food is good and there is plenty of it. We have picky eaters, so even the pickiest are accomodated. The horses are sturdy, sane and the rides are as safe as horses can be. The wranglers always double check all of the tack and accomodate all levels of riders. I was a more experienced rider and was traveling with three other beginners. They were able to please all of us with faster rides for myself or slower, easier rides for the beginners. The smaller groups were wonderful and fun. They matched up the horses for your level of riding and you had the same horse all week, which was nice. The saloon and the main lodge are great, decorated wonderfully and very cozy. We were never bored. Whether it was rafting, fishing, riding or hiking, fun was had by all. You can really tell that everyone loves there job and the scenery is just breathtaking. The cabins are very nice and the beds were very comfortable. At the Spotted Horse, if you need anything... just ask, they will be MORE than happy to oblige! We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyann1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We have recently booked 3 nights here en route to vegas as part of our month in America, we had previously stayed at Paws Up in Montana which was beautiful but only as a spa type resort, the people, horses and views were not a patch on Spotted Horse. After staying here for a 3 days we changed our itinerary and stayed for 2 extra nights. The food was basic but good, the accommodation is good and very clean, but the location, horses, wranglers and Jackson are some off the ingredients which made it for us.
I am a very basic horse rider but by the end of the trip I had learned to do rising trot(post) and canter(lope). We went on some amazing ridge rides and met some great people.

Trip adviser lead us to this place, sometimes trip adviser gives you a bad steer, such as when we stayed checked in to Union inn in San Francisco and immediately checked into the Fairfield. But I can honestly say as a frequent traveller we will definitely be back and wished we never left.
If you want a true guest ranch holiday then I could not recommend this place enough you will not be disappointed. Make sure you sample a Das Boot shot with the Wranglers in the Bar after dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuskAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We recently had family reunion trip at the Spotted Horse Ranch and the trip had some ups and many downs. The big issue was my wife on her first horseback ride was seriously injured when the saddle flipped going up the first hill. The saddle cinch was not checked leaving the stable and the horse was a "blow out" and when she tried to go up the first hill the horse became more relaxed and the saddle flipped and her leg caught. The result was a serious knee injury that has already required one surgery and another one will follow. The ranch staff did take responsibility and we were able to get her as comfortable as possible, but when you are on vacation the last thing on your mind is an equipment failure.

As for the ranch, the rooms are cozy and nice and the cleaning was fine. Dinner was served family style and when the Chef cooks it is great. If his assistant cooks it was generally ok but not over the top. My kids were able to enjoy our vacation and the highlight was the white water rafting trip. They absolutely loved it. I enjoyed the horseback rides and the fly fishing. Finally, the cookout nights were alot of fun and the happy hour free drinks was a nice treat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGICK_HEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spottedhorse, General Manager at Spotted Horse Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

We at the Spotted Horse Ranch take the safety of our guests very seriously. The horses’ cinches are checked when saddled and again when the rider is placed on the horse. While some horses do "blow up" and expand there lungs to have room to breathe this is not an equipment failure. The wranglers then stop 10 minutes into the ride and check cinches once again. The commenter was not on this ride. And while we are sympathetic to the injury, guests are given a horse orientation Monday morning. Two points the wranglers make at that orientation are to immediately inform them if they feel their cinch is lose or they are not properly seated in their saddle. They are also asked to only place the ball of their foot in the stirrup. The saddle in question had to be loosened to be placed back on the horse properly by the wrangler. We attempted to make the rider as comfortable as possible for the remainder of her stay and were pleased to be able to offer them a cabin for a few extra days. We have a fantastic safety record and are certified by the Dude Ranchers Association for Horse Safety and Adaptive First Aid for the Trail. Kevin Watkins, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Our family has taken several different vacations across the country and the Spotted Horse stands out from all of them.

The experience was built on the simple foundation of our family getting closer to nature - no TV's, no video games, being outdoors. It was enhanced by breathtaking views, hours of horse back riding, and perfectly rustic facilities (comfortable and clean yet totally different from our suburban life). The food was great, the staff exceeded every expectation we could have had and the proximity to the airport and Yellow Stone made things even better. But, for us, the best part of all was experiencing this amazing setting with other families and a wonderful group of young staff. There was a real magic as we all found ourselves experiencing it all as a community. By the end of the week, we felt like we had made life long friends and experiences that made all of us look at the world in a slightly better way.

From all of my family, a huge thanks to Kevin, Chelsea, Harrison, Nate and all the other staff!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Went on an 10 Day Hunting and fishing trip with the Spotted Horse Ranch and cannot say enough good things about it. The service and accommodations were great and the country and scenery were spectacular! We spent three days hunting and fishing out of the ranch and then 8 days at their hunting camp 16 miles back in the Spring Creek wilderness area south of Jackson Hole. There were 4 Hunters and we harvested 4 antelope, 3 Bull Elk, and a nice Mule Deer Buck, some ducks and many trout. The food, both at the Ranch and in the hunt camp was very good and plentiful, and all of the staff worked hard to make our trip memorable. I will definitely go hunting with this group again and I am pretty particular. You definitely need to be in good shape to
hunt with Kevin and Hunter who are two of the best guides I have been around anywhere. You should be comfortable around horses too as this is how you cover a lot of spectacular country. I highly recommend the Spotted Horse Ranch for a fantastic and rugged wilderness experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
13.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
13.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
13.4 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
21.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
12.7 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#22 of 40 in Jackson
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spotted Horse Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Horse Ranch

Address: 12355 S US Highway 191, Jackson, WY 83001-8815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range: $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Spotted Horse Ranch Hotel Jackson
Spotted Horse Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing