We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwater Restaurant

Sweetwater Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived a bit late - around 8:45pm - and were warmly welcomed. We were seated outside and it was a great atmosphere. You are just off a fairly main road, but the fence and bushes made it feel very private. Service was great - waitress was very knowledgable of the different entrees and wine. Awesome bread served with our salads and the entrees were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmmtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    160
    74
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you're hungry for lunch, stop here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We are here for work so separate checks were necessary, they don't do it for parties of more than four so beware. Waitress was reluctant at first buy she did eventually separate them after all. Besides that portions are big and good (we ordered wraps, hoagies and gyros) We sat outside and even though tables are close together it's was not noisy or overwhelming. Would definitely make this a stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanezaAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recent trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

While in Jackson recently, I looked this restaurant up on line. It was recommended by the "locals" so we tried it. When we arrived, it looked pretty empty (which is usually not a
good sign) plus it was around 7/7:30 p.m. We were hungry after a long day of sightseeing,
so we tried it anyway. Staff was great, service excellent, and within 1/2 hr. the place was
packed (outside) We sat on the patio and had an excellent dinner. Warm, friendly (and made
a couple of new friends too!) Would highly recommend this place for a great dining experience.
I had the ribs (excellent) and my husband had elk osso bucco which was delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“could have done better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate here because we had met the owner at another restaurant. That should have told us NOT to eat at Sweatwater! The ribs were NOT baby-back ribs-too tough. The fancy shoestring fries were NOT good and it took ux so long to get the mafia's attention (tell thin dour man in black) that our meal was 90% eaten-minus the fries. Would not go back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive for venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was so yummy! We paid $55 for two dinners, no drinks, no extras. The Elk Ossobucco was awesome (though VERY fatty - the nature of the dish). I felt it was pricey for the venue - outdoor seating, picnic table style. Butt on wood bench. Placemat on wood plank table. Not comfortable. I'd have expected table cloths and padded seats for that kind of money, but it is Jackson, in the richest county in the country...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Restaurant also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Sweetwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing