We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A diamond downtown Jackson Hole”

Sweetwater Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
377 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A diamond downtown Jackson Hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed a short walk from town square to Sweetwater, a charming, log cabin decor restaurant. We had our iced tea served in Mason jars. We ordered the soup of the day, yam and beet bisque, delicious.. My husband had the blackened chicken salad and I had the salad of the day, a seared ahi tuna salad. Both were topped with an amazing tomato balsamic dressing. Our waiter encouraged us to try the homemade pecan pie. Great recommendation. It was fabulous along with a hot cup of coffee. All for $49 plus tip. A definite must!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shayne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    161
    74
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazlehurst
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cute little cabin for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Christmas Eve felt so comfy at the Sweetwater. they had an excellent 4 course meal..very good - but too much food

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ptourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique and satisfactory dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sweetwater restaurant is located in the small town of Jackson Wyoming, a sought after ski destination nationwide. It is a small log cabin that includes cozy indoor seating with a real wood fire place and a western feel to it, perfect for a winter visit. The Sweetwater cabin is actually a registered historic building in the town of Jackson, built in the early 1930s. It also has spacious outdoor patio seating which is great for warm summer days. Sweetwater is one of my favorite restaurants on earth, because it meets my criteria of the qualities that all well run restaurants should have. It has a variety of unique delicious fresh foods and liquors, excellent customer service, and a wide variety of liquors with a traditional western atmosphere.

The restaurant boasts a large selection of unique dishes, some of which cannot be found anywhere else in town. I would describe it best as an interesting mix between western and Cajun style foods. One of the more popular of the Cajun dishes that Sweetwater has to offer is the Catfish PO’ Boy, which is served on a grilled hoagie with Louisiana fried catfish, lettuce, tomatoes, and a side of tartar sauce. The PO’boy runs for $ 11.80. Another dish on the more western side of the menu is Elk Melt, the Elk Melt is an eight ounce elk patty on sour dough, with caramelized onions, mushrooms, and a side of au sus. It is absolutely delicious. The Elk Melt goes for a price of $12.70. Although more catered for meat lovers, Sweetwater also has a fairly large variety of vegetarian options, including a list of fresh salads with homemade dressings. On top of all the enticing menu options, the restaurant also offers a full bar with tons of local beers from the Snake River Brewing Company to choose from. The most popular of the local brews is the snake river pale ale, a beer light in color and heavy in taste with a rich, authentic, fresh flavor. This drink costs $4.00, a fair price for such a quality beer. Another popular drink unique to Sweetwater is actually called the Sweetwater. This refreshing summer beverage is a sweet combination of Seven Up, real Carolina sweet tea vodka, and lemonade, served with a lemon, lime, and orange on the rim of the glass. The unique variety of tasty fresh foods and drinks is not the only thing that sets Sweetwater above other restaurants in my mind.

Sweetwater provides excellent and genuine customer service. When seated you are promptly greeted with an ice cold cup of water and a smiling server. All the servers enjoy what they are doing, and seem to actually care about the satisfaction of the customers and the well-being of the restaurant. They are attentive and make little to no mistakes taking orders, and if they do make a mistake they are very apologetic and make up for whatever happened. Let’s just say I have never had to leave a bad tip in the years I have been going there. Another appealing part of the customer service aspect of Sweetwater is how fast your food is delivered to you after you order. The appetizer will arrive in a matter of minutes, followed shortly by the main dish at the perfect time after you finish the appetizer. It is impressive that the food makes it out so fast considering the effort and time that is put into each and every dish.

Another important element of a high quality restaurant experience is having a manager or owner present at all times of service. This ensures that there is always a knowledgeable person there that can answer difficult questions customers might have, and deal with in house problems. Having managers and owners around also motivates the employees to work to their full potential knowing the boss is constantly watching. Every time I have gone to Sweetwater either the owner Trey, a boisterous Louisiana man with a passion for cooking, or his partner in business Dennis, an experienced food professional and former restaurant owner are there to greet, and help the customers in any way possible. They are always happy to drift from table to table making sure everyone is having a satisfactory experience. This further helps solidify my high regards for the restaurant. There is one more feature that puts Sweetwater at the top of my personal chart of favorite restaurants.

The last important element that I think restaurants need to be quality is to have a good atmosphere and theme. Sweetwater demonstrates both of these with its western home style that reflects on the atmosphere of the entire town of Jackson. One example of this is that most of the drinks, besides alcoholic drinks are served in old fashion mason jars. Another element that adds to the old western feel, are some of the artifacts located in the restaurant. Included in these artifacts are old cowboy books, paintings, and an actual working old fashioned fireplace. Many of these things date back almost century. All these items are complimented with a comfortable cozy candlelit atmosphere in the evenings.

Sweetwater combines many different things to create a truly enjoyable dining experience. It offers delicious home cooked western and Cajun food, great customer service, and an atmosphere that cannot be beat. I have been enjoying this restaurant for years and would recommend it to anyone who has any sort of taste in restaurants. So next time you are passing through Jackson Wyoming, make sure to put Sweetwater restaurant high on your list to visit, it is a one of a kind place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rustic cabin that has authentic western game and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Its a very authentic old wooden cabin right in downtown Jackson. Food is very good and feratures tons of game like Bison, Elk, Venison and such. Idaho trout as well.

Nice atmosphere and very kid friendly as well.

Unexpected and we'll go back next time we're in town

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slipless71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just a short comment. We had soup and an avocado-type salad to share. Food was tasty. A worthwhile place ti visit if in Jackson, Wyoming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Restaurant also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Sweetwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing