We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roomy Jackson Hole Condo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Roomy Jackson Hole Condo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

First off, let's be clear. The pictures posted for rooms in the Grand View Lodge (such as on Hotels.com) are likely only for the Deluxe accommodations. If you are not paying for the Deluxe (that is, if your room cost less than $500 a night), your rooms will not look like the pictures.

While that is the case, all is not lost. The Grand View Lodge (or, more accurately, the Snow King Resort condos) does offer very roomy and well equipped condos, and their location right in Jackson Hole is very convenient to the local sights and downtown (do note, however, that Jackson is at least 50 miles away from the south entrance into Yellowstone and more than 80 to any of the major Yellowstone attractions...if you are planning to travel into Yellowstone from the Grand View, you'll need to factor that distance into your travels). Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teenage daughters) rented a two-bedroom condo, which included two full bathrooms, laundry and a kitchen, that was more than enough room for our family of five and luggage. Space was certainly not an issue as our condo had two floors and several beds, including a queen size bed in one room, a pull down bed in the "living room" area of the first floor, a double bed in the upstairs bedroom and a pull out couch in the living area upstairs. The rooms do not offer air conditioning but, to be honest, Jackson, WY in the summer time does not really require air conditioning (our condo had a few fans), but include a washer and dryer and a small cooking area with fridge, stove and microwave. Wi-fi is included, which worked pretty well for our purposes. The condos themselves are a bit dated and resemble older apartments rather than modern condos.

Our condo had some issues, specifically, one of the bathroom ceiling fans was broken, a towel rack was broken and the unit was not as clean as it should have been. Parking is somewhat of an issue as the parking lot only has several parking areas adjacent to the condos, with overflow parking located elsewhere on the property. We arrived at night and had a heck of a time finding our way from the check-in site at the hotel to the condo area, even with the provided map.

Nevertheless, given the price we paid (average $195 a night), location and size, the Grand View Lodge was a good bargain. If we return to the Jackson area, our family would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    56
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
137
89
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mc Farland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here while I attended a business conference. We'd been doing more budget-hotels until arrival and we felt like we were in a very nice home. Having two bedrooms and two bathrooms certainly was nice, and the washer and drier was really great, too. Facility appears recently updated and everything was very clean and nice. the location of Grandview is really great for being able to walk downtown (or, Wednesday evening there's a farmer's market in the park next to this resort) or up the mountain. the two slight disappointments were that the internet in our rooms was not strong, yet it did work, and for me, the lack of views of the tetons. I thought we'd see what you see from around Jackson Lake, but you don't. you have to drive north of Jackson to see that. Still the nice hot tub, swim pool (a short walk) and overall facilities made for a great stay for us.

Room Tip: If it is winter and you'll want to use the hot tub, you might want to book a room closer to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay some where else in Jackson hole.
We were on a family vacation and booked this trip 6 month in advance. Halfway through our vacation we were booking into the Grand view Lodge. We were two families of 5 each with 2 separate 3 bedroom condos booked. When we got there at 3 pm our condos were not ready so we waited 1 hour on the deck. So when we got to the condos to settle in they were not what we booked. They were dumps. Dirty carpets, moldy bathrooms, smelly basement bedrooms. I would never stay in a dump like this. So both me and the other dad from the other family went back to the front desk where the customer service was pathetic. Very unprofessional. They said they overbooked and could not give use the condos that we booked. Two hour of trying to get this resolves with the so called manager in charge and they would do nothing to correct the situation. Bottom line take what we gave you or leave. So we left and went to a great place called the Teton Mountain Lodge and Spa. Thanks to the help from Expedia ( who we original booked this condo through),and there great customer service. They were able to rebook us at this 5 star condo called Teton Mountain Resort and Spa.
I would advise anyone who is considering staying at this mismanaged facility to stay somewhere else. There are plenty of great places to stay in at Teton village. Which is what we did.
We ended up having a great vacation after 5 hour of stress and frustration. And finally getting to the Teton Mountain Resort and Spa at 10 pm at night. They couldn't have been nicer there.

Room Tip: Go to Teton Mountain Resort and Spa in Teton village......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

So, here we have diverging opinions: one of us thought the place needed some updating but the other feels that it was recently refurbished, just to a more relaxed aesthetic. One would rather see "contemporary modern" but the other expects (and enjoys) a more rustic, homey feel for what is 75% of the year a ski resort. We both agree that the location was nice, just a short walk to town, and enjoyed free parking (covered for our unit). We stayed in one of the condos, not the actual hotel part. The unit was extremely large and spotless upon our arrival. There was no maid service in the condo but there is a laundry room in the unit itself and a dishwasher in the kitchen with all sorts of soaps, bags and paper towels supplied.
We've stayed in several ski resort timeshares before and this is pretty standard to better in size, location and decor to most. We would definitely recommend it to anyone going with a group for a week who want the flexibility of cooking vs a 5 min walk to downtown restaurants.
Only one of us ate at the main hotel restaurant - a burger for lunch - and wasn't very impressed.
If you don't know JXN well, be aware that this is right on Snow King Mtn (which you can ski, just not very hard but great for learners) and you will need to travel to Teton Village. A car is easier but not essential b/c there is bus service. In Summertime, you will likely want to go to the Parks so it's just as easy to stay here as it is in Teton Village and this is far closer to town with it's shops and restaurants. We also both agree we'll likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57strathmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay via booking.com in February. Upon our arrival (in June) we received the key of something called "pitchfork apartments". I thought this was strange but we went to the apartment anyway.

When we came in it didn't look like the place we saw earlier at all: instead of a roomy and luxurious apartment we encountered a run-down 70's apartment that reminded me of the sad places we sometimes see in ski areas in France: it is in desperate need of refurbishing, kitchen stuff was missing etc.

It certainly didn't look like the place I booked (what about the spa bath, the flat screen tv, the..etcetc)
So I called the reception. They said that this is what we had booked and that they didn't have apartments with spa baths.

Slightly taken aback I decided to take a look at the internet and saw that other people encountered the same experience. I also saw that the Grand View Lodge did exist and does include a spa bath! So I went to the reception to tell them I thought a mistake had been made. The couldn’t do anything for me because Grand View Lodge was booked full and the manager wasn’t here (it was 22.30).

I came back the next morning and had a chat with the manager-a friendly guy who tried to tell me I had booked something else. But when he looked at my printed confirmation he realised their mistake. He offered us a place in Grand View Lodge and to transfer our luggage to Grand View Lodge while we were out in the park for a hike.

When we returned at 4 pm the luggage was still in the old apartment so we decided to transfer it ourselves. We did enjoy the rest of our stay very much- Grand View Lodge is beautiful, very spacious and comfortable with wonderful views of the valley.
They didn’t charge us for the first night in the grubby apartment.

All in all I found the lodge great (but avoid pitchfork!), the staff friendly and willing enough but they did make a few mistakes that made us feel things could have been run a bit more professional.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in Grand View Lodge and not in the nearby Pitchfork apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krijtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the three Bedroom Condo and it was beautiful. The renovations of the resort are almost done and it looks great. The pool is average size but the hot tub is huge! My family loved it and the location to the town and the summer activities was perfect. Our morning view on the patios of the Grand Tetons were breathtaking. The concierge helped us select some great activities like white water rafting and horseback riding and the vouchers were provided to us at check in and the cost was added to our bill so we didn't have to worry about it at the activity location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in their superior 3 bedroom condo which was lavishly furnished and had a beautiful view. Some issues with check-in as the lock was broken on one side of our unit we were unable to access. Multiple calls to the front desk were met with queries if we were sure we had booked both sides of the unit. Eventually this was resolved and they sent maintenance out to fix the door and allowed full access to the unit.

Room Tip: There were no twin beds (only queen or king) in this unit so be prepared to share beds if you have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Grand View Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Grandview Lodge. It appears that overall you had a positive experience at the property which I am pleased to learn. My apologies for the maintenance item that you brought to our attention in regards to the locking mechanism, though I am pleased that the issue was resolved.
We do hope that you will consider us again on any future visits to Jackson Hole.

Sincerely,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Hotel & Grandview Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.4 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.9 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.8 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 537 Snow King Loop, Jackson, WY 83001-8372 (Formerly Love Ridge Resort Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacationing in paradise couldn't be any easier with Grand View Lodge, Jackson Hole's premier luxury condominiums and private residences. Grand View Lodge is located in the town of Jackson just blocks from the historic town square and slope-side to Snow King Mountain Resort. Whether it's time to visit Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, float the Snake River or catch that perfect cowboy powder Jackson is known for, Grand View Lodge provide the ideal location for your adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Love Ridge Hotel Jackson Hole
Grand View Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing