We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Dining in the Museum”
Review of Rising Sage Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rising Sage Cafe
Price range: $10 - $14
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The cafe is located within the National Museum of Wildlife Art. Our setting over looks the National Elk Refuge where 5,000 elk winter. In the summer our patio offers wonder views of the Gros Ventre Mountain and "Sleeping Indian". We also are the exclusive caterer fro the National Museum of Wildlife Art and provide the best venue for events in Jackson Hole.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining in the Museum”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have eaten at this cafe several times, and it never disappoints. This time we had the tuna melt sandwich. They do a fine job with everything we've ever eaten here. I would go out of my way just to eat here even if I wasn't going to the museum. You have a view of the elk refuge as you dine, and there is wildlife art on the walls. Whoever is managing this restaurant, bravo!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Sandwich in Wyoming”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This cafe is in the National Museum of Wildlife Art, although you don't have to visit the museum to eat there, it affords great views over the Elk Refuge of Jackson Hole, just outside the town of Jackson, and has a fairly comprehensive menu of sandwiches and snacks, with daily specials and healthy options.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Ann29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Lunch with a View”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I don't know how the Rising Sage Cafe can be rated only number 70 among Jackson restaurants when it has seven reviews, of which five are in the "Excellent" category and two in the "Very Good" category. There is absolutely nothing about this little restaurant that is not to like. They put out an outstanding lunch, perfect for your day at the National Museum of Wildlife Art where the Cafe is located. Having tried the food and enjoyed the view of the Elk Refuge and mountains from their patio, I would go back there even if they were not inside a great museum. I asked a question about the landscape across from the museum and cafe, and a gentleman from the cafe staff had detailed explanations. Good food, good people, outstanding view.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yankee26Soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING food, service, cleanliness and views”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Without question, this lunch restaurant in the National Museum of Wildlife Art is one of the most wonderful places I have ever had the pleasure of dining in. The restaurant is only three miles north of Jackson, Wyoming and is located in the Wildlife Art Museum. You do not have to enter the museum or pay a fee to eat in the Rising Sage Cafe there, just walk in the entrance of the museum and there it is for your enjoyment. You can also browse the museum store after eating without paying a fee if you choose not to enter the museum.

The views from the tables (both inside and outside) are gorgeous as you look out on the valley. The menu includes a wide variety of salads, soups and sandwiches along with deserts and numerous beverage choices. Food is prepared fresh and is scrumptious. It is well worth the five minute trip from Jackson just to eat lunch here and enjoy the view. The museum is awesome if you choose to enter it but not a mandate if you just want lunch. For sure, this place is the best kept dining secret in Jackson, Wyoming and I could not more highly recommend them for your lunches. We have eaten there about six times and look forward to going back each time we are in the area. Try it:-)).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Summer Lunch!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I had the caprese salad, which was delightful! My boyfriend had the fish tacos with nachos, which he really enjoyed as well. Food came out quick and was excellent!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrivingMissEloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sage Cafe also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing