We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of best meals of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nani's Cucina Italiana - CLOSED

Nani's Cucina Italiana
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gill
Transit: START BUS STOPS: Mercil & Glenwood. At the corner carefully proceed across Mercil walking south on Glenwood. Nani's is 1/2 block down the street on your left. or... HOME RANCH PARKING LOT at Cache & Gill. Proceed to the corner at the Anvil Motel. Walk west on Gill, turn right on Glenwood. Nani's is 1/2 block on your right.
Description: An Italian Trattoria where the focus is handmade pasta and wood-fired cooking with expertly crafted cocktails and a value-oriented cellar of incredible Italian wines. Glorietta is a balanced mix of warm, naturally-finished materials with simple tile surrounding a large wood-burning grill in the middle of the restaurant create a space that is tasteful but casual and fun. Our hearth is our heart. This is a happy place, for sure. If the billowing swarm of string lights flickering above your head don’t bring a smile to your face, well, there’s no hope for you. The design reflects a menu that is expertly prepared without being fussy or pedantic. When possible, the menu folds in local ingredients to create curiously delicious meals all while paying homage to Italy. Add to this one of the best Italian wine lists in the country (in Jackson? Yes), and you’ve found yourself dining Glorietta.
Salem, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“one of best meals of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Came to eat here by accident as another restaurant was too busy. lovely atmosphere. wonderful handmade pasta. The dinner was simple but so good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    104
    57
    39
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average Food; No Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The restaurant had average food and service. While I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there it was walking distance from our hotel so it was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lakeview80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolute favorite place to eat in Jackson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is amazing!!!! I had the best pasta and meatballs I have ever had! The portions are good size so go hungry! The tiramisu for desert was to die for and it is huge!!! Yummy yummy yummy!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, Delicious Food + Great Service + Cozy Vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unpretentious and delicious Italian food at reasonable prices for Jackson. Comfortable and casual ambiance. Professional service. A chef who cares about his craft and it shows in what is presented on the plate. Were we in Jackson again, we'd happily go back to Nani's.

Noting mixed reviews here, I'll share that my husband is of Italian heritage, grew up with an Italian speaking grandmother in an Italian neighborhood in Brooklyn and he enjoyed Nani's. He said the food was like that which might be served by his good cook uncles out of their home kitchens. Simple, quality ingredients, well prepared.

LOCATION:
A couple of blocks off Jackson's hectic downtown, this is a great location to get out of the chaos but be close to it at the same time.

VIBE:
Recently remodeled. Gone are the red and white checked tablecloths. In are wood tables and black chairs along with upholstered red banquette seating. Walls are parchment colored. Three seating areas: in the bar at the high perch stools or at standard height tables. (Hooray for the latter being available in the bar for those of us who can no longer boost ourselves up on a bar stool or have lost interest in doing that.) More table seating in the dining room and the outside deck in the front.

Nice jazz-ish music mix at subtle enough level to invite conversation and not compete with it.

Look up because the wood lined ceilings are both flat and barrel shaped here and there. Adds to the refined rustic ambiance.

MENU / FOOD / VALUE:
On the front of the double sided menu you'll find openers and small plates that can be easily shared. From items like bruschetta to focaccia flatbreads to clams or mussels to an assortment of salads to salumi or cheese plates. On the back side you'll find an assortment of pastas to entrees that include things like bistecca, eggplant, risotto, fish and rack of lamb.

But to start, you will be presented with a basket of two kinds of wonderful housemade bread with both olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the table to use with it if you like.

We grazed our way through several items and each one was delicious. For $73 for two people, including two glasses of wine, we thought our meal was a great value as we enjoyed...

...Fresh chopped romaine salad with Gorgonzola dressing, walnuts and prosciutto (served on a nicely chilled plate).

...Zuppa vongole - plump, perfectly cooked steamed clams in a spicy red broth.

...Spaghetti Ametriciana - the pasta was cooked perfectly al dente and that is a great starting point. Add to it a well seasoned tomato sauce with roasted onions and guanciale, this was delicious.

...Broccoli Rabe - sautéed with olive oil, red chili flakes and garlic.

LIBATIONS:
Full bar. We choose wine. A few by the glass offerings in both red and white. Glass prices range roughly $7 - $11. Bottle list ranges from $27 for Eco Domani Merlot to $286 for a '99 Itallian Barolo. Most bottle prices in $35 - $45 range. Not a great list. With so many good and affordable Italian and domestic wines available, the wine list might use a tune up.

SERVICE:
We sat at a table in the bar and the bartender was our server. The service was top notch. He knew the menu and didn't miss a beat in the perfect timing of our courses to serve everything at the right time and temperature. Not to mention he was pretty adorable with a delicious Italian accent. Not that my husband seemed to notice those details as did I. :-)

CHEF:
There has been a turnover in the last couple of years when the family member who headed the kitchen moved on to pursue opportunities outside the state. She still consults but the kitchen is now headed by Chef Daniel Luna. In a classic "don't you love it" success story, the Chef was working in construction just ten years ago when the downturn forced him to change career directions. He started in Nani's kitchen as a dishwasher and worked his way up under the previous chef's tutelage then attended culinary school. Now he turns out the rustic, simple, regional Italian dishes that have been Nani's long time focus. Locals loyal to Nani's with whom we spoke say the good food has gotten even better with Chef Luna's presence.

THIS N THAT:

1) MUST BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT: given over 20 years of success in Jackson and the locals' loyalty.

2) ACCESSIBILITY: is good here with main entry on the side of the building accessible by ramped walkway, level in and throughout, lots of standard table height seating.

3) AUDIENCE: seems as if this would be equally good for families, couples, singles or groups across all ages. On the night we dined, the population skewed older, 45 plus, with only one family and a couple of 30 something couples seated for the two hours we were there.

4) NO TV: thank goodness.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Unusual but authentic dishes; very tasty. The service was very good, and the restaurant is clean. They have a good wine selection as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KC_AllenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nani's Cucina Italiana also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing