We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem ”

Chinatown Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 144 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Driggs, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem ”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I stopped in here for lunch with my fiance and WOW I was surprised at how good it was. Upon entering the restaurant, I was a little unsure judging by the well worn decor, but we were promptly seated and served ice water and hot green tea. We both ordered lunch combos, and our soup was at the table within three minutes. I really enjoyed their wonton soup, which has bits of fresh chinese cabbage in it - yum! Our entrees were brought out before I even finished my tiny bowl of soup! Talk about fast service!! The portion was enormous. I took half of mine home for the next day, and the waiter boxed it tableside for me. The total bill for two lunch combos and a single fountain sodapop (I was more than happy with the tea!) Was $20. I will definitely be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank tristamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    18
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SINY
Level Contributor
168 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sit down was a better experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

When in JH, I usually order take out from here, I always hear its the best of a limited Chinese food restaurants. I decided to check out the sit down. Plain decor, OK service, food tasted good & yes, the portions were or seem to be larger than what you would have than taking out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank club212rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Agree with others”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

For Jackson Hole, excellent Chinese. Quick service and mile high portions. A lot of variations on dishes that you may be familiar with.

Definitely a thumbs up for variation from the common cuisines in the area. Give them a try when your taste buds need a break.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayouWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Well worth looking for”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Chinatown Restaurant is tucked back off Broadway, and if you don't look carefully, you could easily zoom right by. But this eatery has very good food at reasonable prices, so if you're in the mood for Chinese, it's a good find. Chinatown is in a strip mall and doesn't look like much from the outside. Once inside, I was surprised by how big the place is. Our party of four was promptly seated on a Saturday evening around 7:30. Our waiter was a hoot. Despite the language difference, he was very quick-witted and had us laughing several times. Once I told him of my penchant for spicy, he recommended I try the special which was a Szechuan combo--came with egg roll and soup. Food came out promptly and everything tasted great. The rest of our group enjoyed their dishes as well. Casual atmosphere, good food, good prices. Keep your eyes peeled and don't miss it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dim sum is a genre of food NOT a single mass produced appetizer....”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

After a month traveling cross country, eating Chinese food sounded like a good idea. Wrong. This is not what good Chinese food tastes like. Sorry. If this is the best Chinese food in Jackson Hole, it is a sad day. Don't think we will even try the other two places.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Restaurant also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Chinatown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing