We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dinner”
Review of Blue Lion

Blue Lion
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $48
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1.5 blocks from Broadway and Millward
Description: The Blue Lion was built as a residential home in the late 1930's, in 1974 it became The Tourist Trap restaurant and then in 1976 The Blue Lion. I bought it in 1978 after graduating college. The Blue Lion has evolved a lot since those early days mostly due to retired head chef, Tim Libassi who's was with me for almost 25 years. We continue to add and change dishes semi-annually. The lamb, elk and fresh fish are our biggest sellers. There was a restaurant in southern California where I grew up that served mud pie and my mother made a home made hot fudge sauce which we incorporated into our own version of mud pie, a local favorite. The restaurant has been enlarged several times, the upstairs dining, the kitchen, the waiting area and the outdoor deck. In the winter The Blue Lion can accommodate 60 diners at one time. In the summer we open the deck enabling us to accommodate 80 diner. We are open nightly at 5:30 and usually feature an acoustical guitarist as entertainment.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. The food was good. Salad and dessert were the best for me. The entree was good but not over the top. There was a wonderful guitarist and the overall experience was a good one. Make a reservation if you want to eat downstairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarthaAnne1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    201
    100
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Cute little place with lots of charm and excellant food. Have been going there for 30yrs when visiting my sister. The rack of lamb is to die for, pricey, but well worth it. Very clean, wait staff friendly and eager to please. The must place to eat when visiting Jackson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice spot in an old house”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is good old school food in an old house. Not super fancy but comfortable. Great wine list. The elk tenderloin was nearly perfect. Sauces were a bit on the salty side but not too much. Live music piping through from a guitar in the front waiting room. Get reservations for early bird special and save 20% on the entire bill. Great deal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumakmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Decided to try the Blue Lion after hearing great reviews. The restaurant is small and charming and the service was excellent. We all had the rack of lamb and thought it was very good! The lamb was served with a mint/jalapeño sauce that gave the lamb an extra zing! We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Oh my, fantastic!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very small location. Service was some of the best we have ever had. Everyone single person in the place was so professional. Drinks good sized and made very well. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable of all the menu selections. We had the house specialty, rack of lamb and the beef tenderloin. Lamb was fantastic. Beef was ordered well done and it was cooked perfect and still so juicy. We also had a caprsi salad, house soup. This is a must dine at location for anyone to try. we will definately be going back and sending anyone we know to try them out!
Be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoiseID999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lion also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing