We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Elk Steak!”

Gun Barrel Steak & Game House
Reserve with OpenTable
Gun Barrel Steak & Game House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gun Barrel Steak & Game House is a locally owned and operated restaurant which opened in 1993. Enjoy Jackson Hole's finest steaks & game dishes, all cooked over an open river-rock mesquite grill in a rustic hunting lodge atmosphere. The Gun Barrel is located just one mile from the world famous Jackson Town Square and a short drive from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Come visit us today!
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Elk Steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

If your going to have steak you might as well not waste your money else where in jackson. I had the Elk chop and it was hands down one of the best steaks I've ever had. Ive had plenty of elk through out my short life and this was right up there with the ones my dad makes. You really should try it over the beef steaks they offer if you've never tried it before! Usually the sides on dishes are so so, but not here. they were just as good as the main dish. Service was great, he was super friendly and attentive. I don't think one person was disappointed in there meal. Afterwards we had two desserts split amongst the four of us and those were very good as well. Worth every penny!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    564
    237
    70
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Gun Barrel with a bunch of friends from the recommendation of our snowmobile guide. The decor was fun and interesting to look at but that is pretty much it for this restaurant. Our server definitely disliked his job and seemed annoyed by us being there. The entrees came out so fast that we weren't even done with our appetizers. Half of us ordered the velvet elk which was very bland. The other half of the group had the elk chop and said it was pretty good. The entire meal was rushed and our server even brought out our checks assuming we weren't ordering anything else. If you are looking for something low key then this place would be fine. But if your looking for a better dining experience, better quality of food, and better service then I recommend going somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mieke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Fantastic food and spent rest of time admiring all the decor!!! Great atmosphere and all for good price

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nevitsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique decor and classically prepared game - a nice combo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My teenage son and I were in Jackson to ski together recently and were looking to eat at a place that would give us a flavor of "classic Wyoming" (at least in our minds). The Gun Barrel lived up to our expectations.

Located in a former taxidermy museum that featured the big game of the region, the Gun Barrel has a rustic feel. You are greeted by a massive, stuffed bison and surrounded by many other stuffed game from the region. There are, of course, gun barrels, including original Winchester rifle components from the late 1800's.

The service was very good. My son had buffalo ribs that he said were the very best ribs of any kinds he ever had. I had an elk chop which was superb. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food.

I'd recommend the Gun Barrel for visitors looking for some Wyoming history and a meal featuring game meats. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good steak..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to Jackson for are 10 year anniversary and was looking for a nice steak place. This place was great. Food was wonderful staff was very nice. And the wood burning fire place was a warm place to sit by after a whole day of snowmobiling. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsarestory4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gun Barrel Steak & Game House also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Gun Barrel Steak & Game House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing