We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Barbecue Beef in Jackson Hole” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba's Bar-B-Que Restaurant

Bubba's Bar-B-Que Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Barbecue Beef in Jackson Hole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

During x-mas in Jackson Wyoming, I could not wait for another hour at a local restaurant and I drove around looking for a quick meal without a long line. I walked into Bubba's and asked for a lean barbecue brisket sandwich.

The waitress was very polite, and efficient. The other members of our party ordered the chicken or the salad bar which was well apportioned.and included soup.

My sandwich was really generous, had a great smoked flavor flavor and was really filling. I went back one more time and the brisket was still terrific.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    564
    285
    78
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Wow. There is BBQ- and there is crap (to paraphrase a previous review). Bubba's is much closer to crap than BBQ. Overhyped and Overpriced- this place has a bright future I think simply because there are no other Decent BBQ options this side of SLC and the CD.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chartran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uath
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The only BBQ worth eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

For BBQ, there is Bubba's, and then there is crap-- everywhere else. Bubba's is the only BBQ joint we have ever eaten at where I can give an unreserved recommendation. This is a must visit if you can. The reason why Bubba's may be the only decent BBQ eatery in the world is that Bubba's puts 3 sauces on the table and none on the meat, and Bubba's "Mild" sauce is the only acceptable mild sauce we have ever encountered.

Both of us are members of the highly evolved class of Homo Sapiens that have 1,000 times the number of heat sensitive nerves in our tongue that do the typical primitive fans of spicy food.
The hottest pepper commonly found in food is the red pepper flakes used in some Chinese dishes, like Kung Pao Chicken, which we never order in Chines restaurant because the stupid chefs prepare it for the incentive tongues of the Neanderthals. We do make it home, and we make it hot enough to blow the roof off. We do it like this. We have a jar of the hot Chinese pepper flakes that is 30 years old. The peppers are preserved in oil. For Kung Pao for two, we take 1/8 of a teaspoon of the oil and add it to the chicken. To our highly evolved tongues this is mid bending heat, a lever of heat imperceptible to the primitives.

So we give three cheers to Bubba's, which seems to be the only restaurant in the country that has the brains to cater to us superior beings. AS for you primitives, the other two sauces on Bubba's table are hot and really hot. Have at it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ with a good salad bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Service is very friendly and casual. The BBQ is done right - very tender and flavorful. Prices are reasonable and - if the highway construction is finished - very easy to reach and has plentiful parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FijiDiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Family Barbeque at its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were staying at the nearby Cowboy Resort, but I wasn't in the mood for barbeque. We walked the entire town, and after looking at the outrageous prices on menus thoughout the Downtown area, and a hour of walking, we headed back to the Resort. Our family laughed it took us an hour to find the best family restaurant in town, and it was next door to our lodging!

The restaurant was quaint and toasty after being out in the cold. The food is a little pricey, but not if you share the platters. The barbeque platter is $20 and it had pork ribs, pulled pork, barbeque beef, beef brisket, and chicken. You had a choice of sides and we ordered french fries, which were batter fried, and beans. It also came with toasted bread. We ordered 2 platters for 2 adults and 2 teen girls and we were stuffed.

The barbeque is sweet, which is our preference. There was plenty of sauce, but if you like it extra gooey, which my husband does, there are bottles with different types of sauce.

Our bill, with tax and tip, was $50. We definitely received our money's worth.

The only reason I didn't give the restaurant 5 stars, is it has a coffee shop atmosphere, and while it is good, there is nothing that makes this restaurant truly special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Bar-B-Que Restaurant also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Bubba's Bar-B-Que Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing