We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome twist on dinner”

Local Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 144 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Broadway and Deloney
Transit: Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop.)
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome twist on dinner”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Visiting Jackson with a few friends this summer we were looking for a place to enjoy a nicer sit-down meal. The Local was a great find. Service was prompt and very friendly. We had reservations due to the busy season which I would recommend as this is a popular restaurant. The ambience was a perfect balance of mountain town/fine dining. You can come here dressed up or apré-ski it seemed. There was a mix of couples, groups, families, etc. Expect to pay around $75-$100 for a night out for 2 (worth it).

The food was cooked perfectly and we were all impressed with the assortment. From Elk medallions to wild game pasta the menu was vast and included an array of food many people don't see on a regular basis. If you visit and aren't used to Buffalo burgers and Elk meat then don't miss out on the opportunity!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    358
    122
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FRESNO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A choice we will repeat”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our group of 4 ate here for our first dinner in Jackson and we were all happy with our restaurant selection. Although tourist traffic was very light the last week of October Local was busy on a Tuesday night. Service was excellent and the meals we chose were attractive and flavorful. Several of us had the trout and were slightly disappointed by the preparation of the dish. It was not a whole fish but pieces of filets over a potato dish that was a bit overpowering for the fish. In all it was a good meal just not what we pictured based on the description.

All of us felt that we would return sine the overall experience was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintage1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Western Wyoming
Level Contributor
354 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good service, good wine selection, good food. Solid choice”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've eaten here on several occasions, and have always enjoyed the food. While the place has a diner sort of feel, the food is very good, and they have a great wine selection. The menu is eclectic- offering wasabi tempura tuna and Philly cheesesteak, for example, but it is well prepared and fresh. We like this place for lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDLee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant dinner with excellent service”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I selected Local for our anniversary. Although crowded, our reserved table was waiting. Our server was excellent, the food was good and the atmosphere was lively but nice. I loved the Elk. My husband's steak with pomme frites was okay, the charcuterie was excellent. And although the fried Brussels sprouts sounded good, they were slightly greasy. I will return to try more.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OMG is right!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

They can take something as simple as chicken or pork chops and make it an unforgettable experience. Great ambience, terrific food and wine, and the food is wonderful, inventive, but not too complicated. Great service as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonescurl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Local Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing