We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near downtown Jackson” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elk Country Inn
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near downtown Jackson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Since there are some divergent viewpoints on the cabins, I thought I would clarify a few points:
1. The Inn is right in Jackson, and only 3-4 blocks away from the center of town, so if you are looking for a real "county" experience, this is not the place to go. However, if you would like to be close to the restaurants, etc. in the evening, then it is an excellent choice.
2. The cabins are probably a bit smaller than you might expect. Nevertheless, they are very clean and have a very nice atmosphere if you are looking for something other than a "standard" hotel.
3. The cabins are right next to each other, so again if you want a "cabin in the woods", you need to look elsewhere. However, this separation did make the cabins very quiet compared to a standard hotel.
Overall I would definitely recommend this place, especially if you want to be in town. Also, the deluxe cabins are nice and definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siemensstadtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to review the Elk Country Inn located in downtown historic Jackson. The staff is glad to hear of your recent stay with us in one of our well appointed cabins we offer at the property. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Come back to see us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    263
    65
    16
    5
See reviews for
256
237
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, great value, great location. Liked it so much we stayed a second night! Walking distance to town and helpful staff. Rooms have everything you need and a nice set up. Beds were also very comfortable,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamerzgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us and others. Our staff is happy to hear that you enjoyed two nights with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. We appreciate you taking your time to share your comments and please come back to see us again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
227 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent just one night in this hotel on my way to Yellowstone. I stayed in one of the cabin which was amazing very good beds very warm room (it was snowing outside, in May!). The concierge was very helpful and the place is three blocks from the central square. There is also a very nice diner just across the street which serves a very good breakfast. Definitively a place to stay when in Jackson.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Everyone wants to thank you for staying with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. We are thrilled to hear about your recent stay in one of our well appointed cabins we offer at the property! The staff appreciates you sharing your experience with other travelers and we hope you had a memorable time in Yellowstone National Park. Please come back to see us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,274 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We got the reservation through Travelocity secret Hotels deal at a very good rate. We were upgraded to a cabin and that was a sweet deal! We asked for an extension and they nearly met the deal price. There is fruit in the office in the mornings, and about 5pm out come the fresh baked cookies! There was a cocoa machine also which may not seem like much but I loved it!
The cabin was such a relief after having been in motels with no facilities. The kitchen was more than adequate for us. A full burner, toaster, fridge. It was wonderful for our weight to be making our own food again!
The bedroom had two queen beds which was good, one king would be better. The Heat worked well, and there's a rack above it for drying anything needed. Nice touch. The place is old west and very comfortable. We stayed near the road side and it was quiet and private. Town's not that big so you can walk most places. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. We appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with us and other travelers coming to the area. The staff loves to hear when guest's enjoy our freshly baked cookies everyday and with a nice cocoa drink there is not a better compliment! We are thrilled you enjoyed one of our well appointed cabins we offer at the property. In the future please feel free to request one of our king size bed cabins we offer and we would be more than happy to accommodate your needs. Everyone is hoping to see you again soon! Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was much better than expected as we got what i thought was a very good price(under $100 online) per night, and it was better htna i thought, it was top notch. I spent first 10 minutes in the room taking pics of details like towels as swans, nice bedding, clean rooms, comfy living area. Then we brought in bags. We felt so at home. Front desk was super nice and helpful, they like their jobs and it shows with each of them. Indoor hottub looked great but my son fell asleep...there will be a next time!

Room Tip: facing into playground is likely best but even road ones are set back pretty far so likely no biggie
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelcomeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It truly was a pleasure having the opportunity to accommodate you while visiting Jackson Hole! We are happy to hear you found our accommodations to be the perfect fit for your family. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers coming to Jackson! We look forward to seeing you again next time. Please take care and travel safely back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. We couldn't hear noise from the other guests. The only downside was waiting to get breakfast. The hotel was very crowded, so getting food took a while. They could use another microwave. The food was replenished quickly. It just required some patience. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldst0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Howdy! Thank you for staying with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at our property. The staff want to thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received during the stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Awesome location, great service, within walking distance to everything downtown. Did I mention no pet fee? My wife and I stayed in a king bed stand alone cabin with our two dogs. The bed was comfortable and all amenities inside were rustic and flowed well. Only bummer was the spa was down due to cleaning services.

Would recommend to a friend traveling to Jackson in summer or winter.

For you Thai food lovers be sure to walk to "Thai me up" and get their craft beer tasting flight, its awesome!

Room Tip: I would recommend spending the extra $25 for a stand alone cabin. The cabins are large and the priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lejon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Our staff want to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. All of us are happy to hear that the four of you had a comfortable stay in one of our cabins we offer at the property. I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the spa being down due to cleaning, it's back and up running stronger than ever! We are excited that your wife and you took the opportunity to check out a local favorite restaurant "Thai Me Up". We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us and other travelers. Please come back and see us again soon! Take care and travel safely back home.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.5 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#18 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
0.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Property: Elk Country Inn
Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001-8409
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Business Hotel in Jackson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing