We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited Elk Country last year and returned to rent one of their cabins. The cabin faced the main parking lot and park area on the grounds. Cabins are all fairly similar and well kept. Two queen beds in a separate room, separate bath, and a kitchenette in the main living area. Cabin had 2 flat screen TVs. All cabins have a small front porch with a picnic table for outside enjoyment. Parking is right in front of the unit. Staff is always friendly and helpful and makes the stay very enjoyable. Cookies in the evening and fruit in the morning add nice touches to the stay. Again Elk Country is close to town, restaurants, and grocery not far away.

Room Tip: If you rent a cabin I would get one that faces park area and not one that faces Flat Creek Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We appreciate having the opportunity to accommodate both of you again for a second visit to the Elk Country Inn. All of the staff are happy to hear that the two of you enjoyed the stay in one of our cozy log cabins. Everyone here wants to thank you for your kind words and we are already awaiting the next time you decide to visit downtown Jackson. Take care and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    264
    66
    16
    5
See reviews for
257
239
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Had to stay a couple nights due to traveling companion's illness, and the first snow of the season. Very nice, private cabin, quiet heater, warm and cozy and VERY reasonable price. We had pets (birds) and they were welcomed and enjoyed it too. Only drawback is we couldn't stay longer. Cabin was far enough from the highway to remove the noise factor. Laundry area was spotless and had modern efficient machines, a welcome surprise. Tv s were large and excellent cable. Wifi was great. A very nice respite form sub-minimal chain hotels in OR WA ID MT. Would definitely stay again and recommend it; at the very least in the shoulder season.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Our staff want to thank you for your recent stay with us in downtown Jackson. We are thrilled to hear that you both had a wonderful experience in one of the cozy cabins we offer at the property. The staff want to thank you for your kindness and we look forward to seeing you again on the next visit. Travel safely and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a cabin with 2 queen beds and a kitchenette at the rear of the property. The cabin and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Everything was done well and we hd a great stay with no problems or complaints. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muddy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Howdy! Our staff want to thank you for staying in one of our cabins we offer at the Elk Country Inn. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us right downtown Jackson. Everyone hopes you had a memorable time in Jackson Hole and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My best friend and I had a fabulous 2 night stay here. The cabin had two comfortable queen beds (flatscreen TV in room as well), a clean and fully stocked bathroom with a tub (nice thick towels), a nice front room with another flat screen TV, fold out couch and a kitchenette with all the kitchen amenities. Beautiful log interior and front porch with a picnic table. Within walking distance to the famous down town Jackson Hole area.

Room Tip: Check for discounts ie. AAA or Government rate or Seniors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It truly was a pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate both of you while visiting the Jackson Hole area. The staff is thrilled that one of our cabins was exactly what the two of you were looking for when choosing a place to stay right downtown Jackson. Everyone wants to thank you for staying with us and we can not wait to see you again on the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city, sd
Level Contributor
347 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a loft room at this hotel. The room itself is very spacious and clean. There are two queen beds downstairs and one queen bed upstairs. There are flat screen TVs on both levels. The bathroom is right as you walk into the room. The bathroom itself is really small, and the sink is outside of it. The fridge and microwave are in this area also. This property is located near one of the main streets in Jackson and we had no trouble finding it. The person who checked us in was very nice and accomodating. When he learned that we had a child in a wheelchair, he offered to move us to one of their cabins since our room was on the second floor (this was actually my fault, I am usually good about asking, but just thought a two story room would be on the first floor......). We ended up keeping our loft room and carrying our daughter upstairs. Anyway, there were a couple of things that kept me from giving this property 5 stars: the cable was really spotty, had to keep messing with the cable itself and in the end, only the HD channels came in decently. There was a ceiling fan, which if you have stayed in a loft room you know you need to keep the temp upstairs decent---this one was set on high with no way to adjust it, and not centered so that the chain would randomly tap against the bulb---irritating when you are trying to go to sleep. The TV's were placed on the same walls upstairs and downstairs, which resulted in a volume war between my husband and son because the acoustics made it so you could hear both TV's clearly. Also, with the tiny bathroom and no way to block off the loft, there was no good way to get dressed privately (and I mean the bathroom was TINY....you could not take your clothes in there). There is a hot tub in a house which is in the middle of the property. We did go look at it and it was clean, but we didnt try it. There is no breakfast here, but they do have fruit during the day, and cookies in the afternoon/evening. All in all, this is a reasonable place to stay in Jackson (at least during the winter, our rate was $149, probably a lot more during summer). BTW, I dont recommend the restaurant in the adjoining parking lot........

Room Tip: No elevators. Lofts are all on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Elk Country Inn as well as other travelers. We appreciate your comments regarding your families stay in one of our Family Loft Rooms. All the staff hopes you all had a wonderful time while visiting the Jackson Hole area and we hope to see everyone again on the next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent one night at the Elk Country Inn during a two week drive through the West. The cabin we stayed in was charming and my girlfriend and I both remarked we would stay again if in Jackson. Cabin was clean, cozy and quiet. Had kitchenette that would make it a great spot for a longer stay. Bed was comfy and cabin had flat screens in bedroom and living area. Close enough to downtown Jackson to walk. Service was excellent, gave us good dining advice. Would stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltcurrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property the Elk Country Inn. Everyone here is happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our quiet cozy cabins we offer. The staff is thrilled that we had the opportunity to accommodate the two of you while staying in downtown Jackson! We hope your trip was a memorable one and please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our recent trip to Grand Teton National Park and 3-night stay at the Elk Country Inn was wonderful! Really enjoyed the cozy log cabin--it was comfortable and clean. The downtown location was very convenient. Would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Our staff want to thank you for staying with us while exploring Grand Teton National Park. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our cozy cabins we offer at the property. Everyone appreciates you sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Please come back and see us anytime at the Elk Country Inn! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#17 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Property: Elk Country Inn
Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001-8409
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#6 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Business Hotel in Jackson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing