We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'New' design'”
Review of Motel 6 Jackson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Jackson
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“'New' design'”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Didn't like the 'new' updated rooms, bathroom was larger, but no door between the shower/toilet and the sink area. So it was a 1 person at a time room. Table was 1/2 a table up against the wall. Only good thing was the flat screen TV on the wall. Would recommend only for a single person.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjo913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    251
    199
    85
    64
See reviews for
205
268
71
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This place was great. Just on the outer edge of the town so a little far away from the action but what a find. The motel had just been refurbished and was excellent. The facitlities were great and the service was even better. High recommend this one to you all.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHoweBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This motel is adequate, but there are issues that I very much find annoying.

Let's start with the good. The beds are at least comfortable and better than some I have stayed at. The mini frig is good and far better than many expensive motels. They have nice TVs, but starting with the bad, they are comfortable to watch, only from bed.

The bad; the room chairs are absolutely terrible and trying to sit in one doing work on a computer or watching TV is awful. Yes, this location is the cheapest or one of the cheapest in Jackson, but there is no excuse for the chairs.

Rooms have paper thin walls that stop no noise, so sleeping can be an adventure. The heating cooling system is not adequate for the bath room/wash area and I personally do not like the type of showers they have or the shower only option.

Staff, they are friendly and helpful, but maybe not as knowlegable as they should be. Without much comment, they claimed a Senior Discount requires AARP membership, but the Motel 6 WebSite clearly says proof of Age 60. Many Motels have already faced the fact that many Seniors have real issues with AARP and will not belong, Motel 6 in general seems to be one of them, but "maybe" not this location.

The charge for the Internet is something very rare, even at resorts. This is a big negative, particularly when for me, leisure travel still means some potential contact with work. For business travel this location would get a (-5) , but let's face it; Jackson is not a large business travel location; however, they still need to rethink the internet charge for basic Internet Service. I travel more than a little and the only time I have been charged for Internet is if enchanced service was requested. A charge for such can be a real deal breaker.

Pets, they are allowed, but it is unclear if they have a block of rooms where pets are allowed or if they could be in any room. The latter seems to be the case and that, if true is bad.

In summary, things like room total room comfort, paying for the Internet, and staff "apparent" lack of knowledge, can out weigh all positives in a "overall" rating. Another big problem is they leave a survey form that fails to ask the right questions. Room comfort DOES include noise issues. In general I would not recommend this motel; particularly if traveling with kids (cramped rooms; little privacy), but if budget is a primary concern; I would.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phototraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

NM
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The price of this hotel caught my attention when looking at prices of other hotels for Jackson. The staff was helpful. The rooms were very, very small and the beds consisted of futon mattresses. Don't recommend if you have a bad back or need a real mattress. The bathroom was very spacious, but not very clean. It obviously had not been swept as there was hair all of the floor which creeped me out and made it hard for me to feel comfortable. But, as I said we were traveling through and didn't want to spend an arm and leg on hotels in this city. I would stay here again and try my luck at getting a cleaner room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsperitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Jackson is not an inexpensive place to visit, and this place came in at $90 a night - shocking for a Motel 6. This was the most we spent on any room of our trip. Yet compared to the prices at other places in town and relative value, this was a great choice. The rooms appear to be newly remodeled and extremely clean. There are flat screen tv's in the room and all the bathroom fixtures are new and nice. The flooring is brand new. We had a refrigerator in our room and a microwave. The bed was new and the room quiet - we woke up well rested. Despite the stress of so many visitors to this area, the front office people were very pleasant and helpful. They notified us of a room rate change when we arrived that saved us an additional $5 off of what we were quoted when we booked the room. That was a nice surprise. Overall, this was a super value in an expensive town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sangredulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I have stayed in a multitude of Motel 6 motels over the years. Granted, it was usually when I was alone, and I was with my family on this trip. This is the tiniest room I have ever been in. The room was clean, the decor was "modern trendy" of some sort, the beds were mattresses on wooden slabs, and the bathroom/sink area was located behind a set of double closet doors without any locking mechanism.

2 double beds, both up against the side walls with maybe 18" of space between them. A half circle table, located on the wall at the foot of the beds,which you could not use if anyone was watching TV. No S-video input jack into the TV, but every other kind of input jacks easily available on TV mount panel. Nice flat panel TV. Beds hard as rocks. No one got more than an hour of sleep at a time because the beds were uncomfortable. The shower was a quarter circle stall with the shower head at the outside edge. When you tried to get out of the shower, you had to step under a waterfall, as the head kept dropping water after you had turned it off. (I like to dry off while still in the shower basin, to keep water off the floor)

Excellent customer service, seemed well kept, but motel has been recently redone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I've stayed here each of the several times I've visited Jackson, due to the fact that it's the cheapest place around. Since I was last here several years ago, they've updated the rooms, giving them a kind of modern feel with flat screen TVs, which now get real cable channels (previously you only had the standard Motel 6 choice of 10 channels or so). The downside is that the rooms have shrunk, and the bathroom is half the size of the room. With 2 queen beds and a small desk in the room, there was basically no room left to move --- I couldn't imagine being in that room with more than 2 people. Of course, if you're like me, when you're staying in Jackson, you're not there to hang out in the hotel all day, so it doesn't matter much. Besides the lack of space, the only downside is that you need to pay $3 extra per day (per computer, by the way) for internet access. They'd be better off increasing the price of the rooms and offering free wireless for all. Overall, for a short stay, where you're spending the days in the Tetons or wherever, it's worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregs_out_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
3.0 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.9 mi away
Golden Eagle Inn
Golden Eagle Inn
#32 of 40 in Jackson
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#29 of 40 in Jackson
334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Jackson Hole
Super 8 Jackson Hole
#36 of 40 in Jackson
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Jackson

Property: Motel 6 Jackson
Address: 600 S Hwy 89, Jackson, WY 83001-8508
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Jackson 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Jackson WY is conveniently located Grand Teton National Park, Teton County Fairgrounds, and Snow King Resort. Yellowstone National Park is less than 50 miles away. All guest rooms have a modern look. Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Jackson
Motel Six Jackson
Jackson Motel Six
Jackson Motel 6
Motel 6 Jackson Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing