We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Burgers”
Review of MacPhail's Burgers

MacPhail's Burgers
Ranked #2 of 157 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Description: Established in 2011. MacPhail's...a family restaurant that serves the best burgers, fries and milk shakes (and a good, cold, locally-brewed beer) anywhere! Awarded America's 10 Most Delectable Burger Joints (TripAdvisor July 2015). Premium Angus beef(USDA Certified) fresh ground daily. Optimal burger bun custom baked to hold a juicy burger. Fries (Idaho's best & real sweet potatoes) fresh cut daily. We offer a clean, friendly environment that we hope makes you feel right at home. Visit after visit, the food is consistently delicious and the service impeccable. MacPhail's is a place we hope you'll want to tell all your friends about. Dine-In or Call For To-Go Orders 307-733-8744. Located at 399 West Broadway. Owner & operated.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ate at MacPail's while on vacation in Jackson Hole last week. We love a good burger, but we were a little disappointed in our meal. They specialize in burgers and fries -- it's the only thing on the menu. It's a cute little restaurant, which is nicely decorated. We couldn't have asked for better service, but the burgers just didn't live up to the hype. They were also overpriced, in my opinion. I think $15 for a hamburger is a bit high, even in a resort town. They just didn't seem to have much flavor. You do get a heaping pile of fries. I had the sweet potato fries and the rest of my family had regular fries. They were both good. The owner was there and he was great. He greeted the locals and the tourists and visited at all the tables. He went out of his way to give us a map with his recommendations of things to do and places to eat in Jackson Hole. We appreciated his time and his suggestions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rbwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at MacPhail's Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

rbwildcat,
We're sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your burger meal - we provide the highest and best ingredients available on the market - fresh ground certified Angus beef (grass feed and regionally ranged), fresh baked buns (that I personally designed with a local baker to hold a juicy burger) and fresh cut fries (Idaho's best and real sweet potatoes, not yams). Accompanied with the burger meal you get homemade dipping sauce for the fries, half (not a quarter) kosher deli dill pickle, lettuce, tomato, onion and your choice of topping, including: 7 cheeses, sautéed mushrooms, onions and peppers, bacon and jalapeños). We offer two size burgers, a half and a third of a pound to meet the varying appetites and cost parameters.

Seasoning food is a tricky business - we add a very slight amount seasonings to our beef to enhance the flavor but still allow the delicious taste of our ground fresh certified Angus beef to come through. For those who want more seasoning we offer a wide variety of condiments (two mustards, ketchup, A1, Tobacco, vinegar, salt & pepper, garlic and horseradish).

We're also sorry that the server didn't make you more aware of all our offerings beyond our Angus burger, which are: Buffalo burger, Cheese Steaks (slice rib eye & chicken) fresh chicken sandwich, salads (with all the fixing and grilled chicken), certified Angus steaks (filet mignon, NY Strip, Bone-in rib eye and London broil), wild caught Alaskan Salmon, Veggie sandwich (for our vegan lovers) and Zweigle's famous hot dogs (that we ship in from Rochester, NY).

Thank you for your feed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 727 of 907 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got into town and were looking for some local food. We were very impressed with our meal. The burgers were huge and the meat was very fresh. Homemade buns and fresh cut fries rounded out the delicious meal. Our server was GREAT about giving us ideas about things to do while in town. He brought out a city map and circled attractions and other restaurants for us to try. He was super helpful. We had a great experience here and would recommend this restaurant!

Thank AliciaZ217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at MacPhail's Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Alicia Z,
We (my wife, son and I) are so glad that you and your husband stopped in and enjoyed our burger meal - fresh ground certified Angus (grass feed and regionally ranged), fresh baked buns (that i personally designed with a local baked to hold a juicy burger) and fresh cut fries (Idaho's best and real sweet potatoes).

We are happy that our suggestions on what to do and see in Jackson were helpful - Jackson Hole is a beautiful and magical place.

Please come back and visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Overnighted in Jackson Hole and craved a burger and beer. Stopped in and was awed. This is a place where they take burgers seriously - from the fresh ground angus beef to perfectly aged white cheddar to a custom made bun. Add some sweet potato fries and a local craft beer and you have all the makings of a perfect meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ADGUY212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at MacPhail's Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

ADGUY212,
We (my wife, son and I) are thrilled that you stopped in on your overnight stay in Jackson. It warms our hearts that you recognized how serious we are about our burger meal - fresh ground certified Angus beef (ground daily in our back kitchen), fresh baked buns (baked locally) and fresh cut fries (Idaho's best and real sweet potatoes).

We hope you'll come back when you're passing through again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

A well crafted burger with a pile of fries. Some of the best fries I've had. Price for the half pound masterpiece? 15 bucks! Still, I'm on vacation, and this is a resort town.

Thank PixlPshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at MacPhail's Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

PixlPshr,
So glad you enjoyed our burger and appreciated the design of our burger meal - Fresh ground certified Angus (grass feed - ground fresh in the back of our kitchen daily), fresh baked buns (designed by me with a local baker to hold a juicy burger) and fresh cut fries (Idaho's best and real sweet potatoes - not yams) with homemade dipping sauce, half (not a quarter) a kosher deli dill pickle, lettuce, tomato and onion - with your choice of toppings (7 cheeses, sautéed - mushrooms, onions, peepers, bacon and jalapeños) all for one price. We don't believe in nickel and dining our guests with added costs for items that should come with a burger meal.

Thank you for your feed back and when you are on vacation again in beautiful Jackson Hole, please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

One of the best burgers we had in America. Huge portions (1/2 pounder and mountains of fries) but there are smaller sizes available too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bruceboughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at MacPhail's Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

bruceboughton,
Thank you for visiting MacPhail's during your visit to America. We (my wife, son and I) are thrilled that you enjoyed our fresh ground certified Angus burger, fresh baked bun and fresh cut fries (Idaho & real sweet potatoes) - we like our guests to be well feed - glad you appreciated the portions.

When you're back in America, please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacPhail's Burgers also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to MacPhail's Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing