We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous part of Grand Teton National Park”

Laurance Rockefeller Preserve
Ranked #3 of 81 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous part of Grand Teton National Park”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

So glad we were able to fit this into our visit!
We were advised to get there early since they control the crowd by managing the flow in the parking lot. So, we got there about 8AM and there were hardly any cars in the lot. And the trails were also very quiet and not crowded! Also, the early light is very pretty with the scenery at this location. (I was happy with the photos I took...for sure!!) Be prepared to stop and take photos!!
I would suggest taking the Phelps Lake hike. I think it's about 7 or 8 miles, but it is worth the extra effort (compared to the other trails). It goes around the entire lake and you get to see the various vantage points, the rock (where people dive in), varying terrain, a slight incline, and GORGEOUS views every step of the way (along the water and inland, too).
Do not miss this beautiful preserve!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank smlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    107
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An exceptional place”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The preserve is lovely and the informational centre is exceptional. Located on the former Rockefeller ranch, this preserve was bestowed to the American public as part of the National Parks System ~ 45 years ago. Every consideration has been taken to make the structure symbiotic with the environment. There is a meditation room, a video element room and rest rooms. Poetic phrases echo in the halls and genuinely nice rangers are available to answer any questions. I was unaware that Roosevelt was instrumental in initiating the National Park System, which began with his own ranch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Compassrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fall colors”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I went in the fall when the Aspen were showing their fall color. It was quiet on the day I was there...only a couple of other people. It's a great place to enjoy a short walk or a longer hike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We went to the Preserve on a rainy afternoon, which is probably why we were able to park without waiting in line. What a beautiful facility, and so well thought-out. We loved how you park in the lot then have to walk the path through the sage brush to get to the building. Immediately you are immersed in the natural culture of the area. The center is awesome, designed to blend in to the surrounding landscape, and the visual and audio displays inside are breathtaking. Walked a short ways to a creek and waterfall. Next time would love to take the hike to Phelps Lake. Don't miss this stop!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TetonLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“LRP a beautiful place”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The parking T the preserve is limited which makes the experience peaceful.
We saw beaver on our hikes.
The views at he Grand Tetons above are amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurance Rockefeller Preserve also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Laurance Rockefeller Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing