We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hike to a beautiful lake”

Laurance Rockefeller Preserve
Ranked #3 of 81 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hike to a beautiful lake”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hiked the 3 mile loop to Phelps Lake. Walked along the mountain stream on the way up - so lovely. Not overly crowded. Just gorgeous!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CLNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    107
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great excursion while in park”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a nice little hike of 3-4 miles round trip up to a beautiful lake. The hike is easy enough for our 6 year old and her 5 year old cousin to handle. We did not see wildlife, but the scenery is beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice easy trail with lake”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped here on the way back from hiking at Jenny Lake, so we were already tired. But is was a beautiful hike about three miles round trip that leads to beautiful Phelps Lake. Well worth the time, and the drive down Moose-Wilson Road is beautiful itself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlieF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.c.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hidden lake”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

easy hike from here to Phelps lake beautiful scenery in the preserve and on the drive to it. The lake warms up enough in july and august to swim in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“what did i do wrong?”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I read the reviews and really wanted to wind up our visit to Jackson at the Preserve. We relied on our gps which took us to the middle of nowhere on a private road. There was no signage on moose road, no visitor center. Perhaps our gps did an epic fail but I was disappointed. We went to the address listed on the website but to no avail. Perhaps it is just well hidden. Maybe next time with better planning. if you are planning a visit... get a real map or have a better gps than we did.

Im giving this a poor review only for the lack of signs. I'm sure the area is beautiful and the visitor center is informative and inviting. Perhaps I was just a moron who failed to plan.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurance Rockefeller Preserve also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Laurance Rockefeller Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing