We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property”

Laurance Rockefeller Preserve
Ranked #3 of 81 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Property”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful area that has really been returned to nature. We got there around 8:30 am and were able to find parking easily. Hiked up to Phelps lake and enjoyed the beautiful views and helpful park rangers that explained the history of the preserve. Beautiful visitors center, clean bathrooms (near entrance and Phelps lake) and well kept trails. A must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WillTravel4Food24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    107
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
757 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Don't miss the outstanding area and center”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We hiked to Phelps lake and hung out and enjoyed the beauty of it all. A lot of different trails to hike including hiking around the lake. The center has some unique things to see. The only downside was the parking. You have to wait until you have a space to park. We waited around forty minutes, but it didn't damper our visit. Don't miss this place if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Scenic hike”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We did an early morning hike to Phelps Lake. Once we got there, there was a bench where we could enjoy the fabulous view and have some quiet time in what is a very busy national park. After returning to the parking area, the visitor center was open. I showed the ranger there a photo that I had taken and she identified it immediately what I thought was some sort of nest but turned out to be a type of fungus on a tree. The rest rooms near the lake were the nicest ones we saw in the park that were not part of a visitor center.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CMBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Get there early. Parking lot can fill up. Great hike from the nature preserve-- easy for families. Along the Wilson Moose road which is a great spot to see some animals really close.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatFamily0fFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sping Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a fun time hiking to Phelps Lake and visiting the information center. Get there early as parking fills up fast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurance Rockefeller Preserve also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Laurance Rockefeller Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing