We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pony Express Motel
Nearby Hotels
White Buffalo Club - Hotel(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$338
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cowboy Village Resort(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$225
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkway Inn(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow King Resort(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$423
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lodge at Jackson Hole(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$462
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Jackson Hole(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$356
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk Country Inn(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$224
$217
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
260
183
62
16
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
183
62
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsfull kitchenbusy intersectiongrocery store across the streetgas stationjackson holeplace to staytwo bedroom condotwo nightswould definitely stay here againan expensive towngrand teton parkguest laundryroad tripcoffee makerparking lotnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 540 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Everything about this place is average, but the price. The good news is that the place is clean-- but well scrubbed also describes the décor. It is a hike to central Jackson. If this review is less than enthusiastic, so was the experience. It is just a place to stay on the way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this motel while visiting Jackson Hole. The room assigned to us was not the room promised. Instead we were given a room [#7] right outside the vending/ice machines and the stairs. Since we had a dog, this was not the best location.
The room was clean and had a small stocked kitchen. The bed was not comfortable due to the mattress. Ours definitely needed to be replaced- offered no support.
Getting to this location is not easy and it would be helpful if the management would inform their guests prior to arrival. Be very careful departing from the hotel as the main road is extremely busy.
This location is most likely the least expensive but I would choose another location even if it cost more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vending machines and stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elleb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for your review. We also got one from the other person who stayed in the room with you on the same visit. We are disappointed that you felt the need to give us two average reviews for the exact same stay. We do acknowledge we are an older property. But we believe you'll find no other staff or property who works harder to ensure our guests needs are met in every area of their stay at The Pony. We are also aware that many who travel have unrealistic expectations, especially when it comes to accommodations in Jackson. We know we are by far the best value in a very expensive destination, and will continue to provide excellent service and real old school hospitality, in spite of having an older motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pony Express Motel for three nights in August, 2013. It served as a good base for exploring the Jackson Hole area and though it was a bit more expensive than we might have liked, it was a good value compared to similar hotels in Jackson.

It is located on the southern edge of the central area of Jackson, at the junction of the road to the Teton Village ski area and to Teton National Park. For us this was a good location because it made it quick and easy to reach those areas for hiking. Although it might be fun to be closer to the old historic district, we were just a short drive to it. The Pony Express is just across the road from a new shopping center with a large supermarket, a very handy place for supplies.

The Pony Express was originally built in the classic two-story motel style, with rooms accessed by a common walkway along the front of the building. The rooms have been totally redone, though, so that inside they have been upgraded into attractively decorated and very comfortable accommodations complete with full kitchen. Our room (#20) was on the second floor and was large with a comfortable king bed (but hard pillows), a small table with chairs at the window, a reading chair, a large five-drawer dresser. The kitchen had a bar counter across one side with stools. Although we didn’t cook full meals we liked being able to make our own breakfasts and keep supplies for picnic lunches. The bathroom was rather small but adequate, with a tub/shower combo and a separate vanity area that had just a small amount of counter space. Wifi is included and worked well.

There were a few quirks that probably were the result of retrofitting an older structure – there was room for only one night stand, there was no closet and only pegs for hanging clothes (though the 5-drawer dresser provided adequate storage for folded items), and the attractive kitchen tile raised the floor level to the point of requiring care not to stub a toe at night. The large windows across the front provided plenty of light but also gave people walking by outside visual access to the room unless the shades were closed. These were minor problems, however.

The staff was uniformly friendly, helpful and welcoming. They seemed to really care about their facility and making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Recently had the opportunity to stay at this location. Prepaid for one night and arrived late for check in. The reserved room was already given to another guest and we were given another room number 7 near the vending machines and the stairs leading to the second floor. The room was clean but old and outdated. The 'convenient' kitchen was of no value because we only stayed two nights. The dishes and utensils were questionable. Getting into the parking lot was interesting. Driving in from the south required turning left into the gas station next to the motel and driving through their property. Driving in from the north requires going slow and giving the vehicle behind you a lot of notice that you are turning right into the motels parking lot. Several times the vehicle behind me thought I was just turning onto the next highway. Expensive for the accommodations but they have you for what seems like the least expensive property. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Register early and ask not to be placed near the vending machine. The second floor looks like a good idea.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efeierabend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very clean and functional with lovely personal touches. There is a small heated pool and garden area that is greatly appreciated after a walk in the national park. Good location; near a huge supermarket, breakfast bar and on the right side of town for the national park. If you are hiring a car through Alamo or National the pick up point is close by. Alamo or National will bring you from Jackson Airport on a bus to pick up your car, very handy. Kristie and her husband have been very welcoming and have given great recommendations. There is also a laundry on site. We have loved our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonDynamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews