We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice room, comfortable beds, and super nice owners! We used the motel as our base for exploring Grand Teton and Yellowstone, and it was a great place to come home to each evening. The motel has charming decor, and was super comfortable. We definitely recommend the Pony Express!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 522 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The motel was convenient to the South entrance of Grand Teton National Park, but it was not possible to walk to the center of town. Beds were updated, but the rest of the room was old and needed renovating. Comfortable enough when you just need a place to crash after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As mentioned before, the motel is a little hard to find, but worth the search. The rooms are a little small but have great amenities. We stayed in a room with a queen bed and a kitchen area. It worked out great for us. They are dog friendly and have a nice laundry facility. The special touches in the room were nice.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor for ease with the dog and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We don't usually stay in motels so I was already a bit leery. As you see by the title, our concerns were unfounded. The managers were the most helpful and friendly of any others we'd met, and we've traveled a lot. The motel was built several decades ago, back when everything was built really well. The exterior and interior were both spotless. Our room was the perfect size and included a full kitchen, with full sized appliances and all the supplies we needed. Within easy walking distance were several stores including a grocery store.The one and ONLY concern which would not stop us from staying in the future was IF the next door neighbors were particularly noisy we could here it. Also, little room to store our clothes.

Room Tip: If you choose a room with the queen AND bunk beds you don't get a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargiePennsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Pony Express prior to going into Yellowstone. It was a wonderful local motel that has been updated and the bed was so-o-o comfortable. We had a full kitchen, WiFi and a great shower. We heard no noise from the highway or neighboring units. The owner, Clint, interacts with the guests, recommends places to eat and treated us like family. My husband couldn't take enough pictures of the beautiful landscaping. It is definitely a place we will return to in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leathap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Pony Express for 3 nights and found the location to be perfect, our room was very clean and tidy and the bed so comfortable. The kitchen area had all the amenities you would need and across the road two well stocked supermarkets, one offering organic foods.
Clint and Kristi were great hosts throughout our stay and were happy to spend time showing and suggesting best places to eat on our budget, scenic drives and best wildlife back road into the Teton's which was priceless. They also lent us two bottles of bear spray for that 'just in case' encounter.
Would we go back there? - definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55elaine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just finished two nights at the Pony Express Motel. We're traveling with a family of eight on a road trip through the national parks. What a great find! We rented two of the standard rooms (queen bed and bunk beds) and split our group across the two rooms. The hotel was built in 1967, and is a classic roadside motel. The bathroom is extremely small, but usable. The sleeping area is adequate in size. The key is that Clint and Kristi absolutely love to run a top-grade service and absolutely love their guests. They are not skimping on the amenities. Sheets and towels are high quality. Fridge, microwave, and TV are top-grade. The bunk bed mattresses are too firm (queen bed is fine). That said, everything is kept very clean and friendly. The curb appeal is charming with lovely flowered landscaping and strings of holiday-style invitation lights. But the real charm is the owners and staff. Lovely people. When was the last time the owner checked you into your room, then came out from behind the desk to escort you personally to your room. A step back to the old days! Well done!

Room Tip: This is a classic two-floor roadside motel, with stairs to the upper floor. Be sure to ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#21 of 40 in Jackson
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $75 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing