We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can pay more for less elsewhere, but why?”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is one of those places that has both Mercedes and old beat up pickups with 10" lift kits and a gun rack parked next to each other. Rates are ridiculously low and the rooms are clean and very well equipped with a FULL kitchen! Only down side is they are small rooms. But are you kidding? For the price how much are you really going to complain? The owners are on premise and want to make sure you have whatever you need. Beds and bedding were better than hotels we've paid 2 to 3 times more per night. My wife actually found a pillow she LIKED! Let me tell you, that's rare! Walls are a bit thin but all occupants were quiet. Only complaint I might have is the plastic chairs outside each room which were frequented by smokers. The smoke lingers but better there than in the rooms. Hence I circle back to "for the money what can you really complain about?" Don't let the low price scare you off. My expectations were low but didn't need to be. Great place for a good night rest.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank One2soarhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Pony Express Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 517 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I normally stay at well known chain hotels but thought I would take a chance on the Pony Express after reading other reviews. I was pleased......my room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds were neat and well kept which, to me, is an indication the owners take pride in their motel. Upon checking in, Clint showed me to my room and pointed out amenities to make my stay more pleasant and mapped out a route into the Grand Teton National Park that worked out well.
There was some normal road noise in the afternoon but it was quiet in the evenings--no problem.
Clean and comfortable. Will definetly stay there on my next trip to Jackson.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Only negative was the COLD shower in the morning. Owner was super apologetic and said he guaranteed the next time we were back it would be good. We happen to be going back in a week on our way back through. Has a kitchen which is way handy, especially with a family as it's an expensive town! They did a pretty nice job updating this older motel, but have more to do! Light fixture over sink kinda hanging off wall as was towel rack.

Room Tip: Not that close to downtown, it would be a pretty long walk.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trex97701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found this motel on tripadvisor, read the reviews and were thumbs up over the price we got, $79. In Jackson to find a good motel at that price = a find. We were also impressived with the size of the room (it had a fully stocked kitchenette) and how attractive the motel was. Yes, it is old but everything worked and was in good shape. Just book ahead becuase this place is in demand. Strongly Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed 8 weeks at the Pony Express due to work. The owners and staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and feel welcomed. Granted, the place is not the easiest to get into but I've had worse. It was always clean and well taken care of. Clint and Kristie do a great job. If you want the "Ritz" , go to the "Ritz". This place is great for regular folk travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and couldn't have been more pleased. Clint greeted me when I arrived and showed me to my room, which was extremely clean. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get up in the morning! The grounds and hanging plants were beautiful. It's near a busy intersection, but noise wasn't a problem at all. I highly recommend the Pony Express and will stay here again when I'm in Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delogan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Jackson Hole and so much had to do with the owner Clint and Kristi and their attentiveness to their guests. When we arrived, we were so delighted with their warmth and helpfulness. When we entered our room, realized they had given us a full kitchen as our gem for the night..and SO CLEAN!! Little did they know after being on the road for two weeks, through the Glacier/Yellowstone/Grand Tetons, a home cooked simple meal in a kitchen was a God-send. As we were a dog family, Clint was so kind and helpful as to all the needs for the guests and our dog to have a good experience. We appreciate their support, and if you are a responsible animal owner, you do want this to be not only a positive for you and your pet, but for all the other guests as well. Best to you dear Clint and Krist, great job!!! Will be back! Hugs!

Room Tip: Ours was perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#7 of 40 in Jackson
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#14 of 40 in Jackson
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#21 of 40 in Jackson
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $79 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing