We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly motel”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way south out of Yellowstone / Grand Tetons.

The motel was easy to find towards the edge of town. It is near a traffic intersection, but we did not have any trouble with noise.

The outside is very tidy with some gardens.

The man on reception was very helpful when we arrived giving us lots of useful local advice, and towels for the pool.

Our room on the top floor was a good size with a full kitchen (which we didn't use). The room was clean and up to the standard of good motels and the wi-fi worked.

We spent some time in the pool, which was one of the few still open.

Very happy with our short stay and we would recommend this motel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Pony Express Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in September. We picked this establishment based on other reviews. We were disappointed! First of all it is very hard to find the entrance to this place especially at night. It is located at a very busy intersection and you can see it but it took a few wrong turns to figure out how to enter. There is only one driveway in and out. We found the mattresses hard and not very comfortable and the sheets are too starchy. Because it is on a very busy intersection we heard the motor traffic.
The rooms were ok but we had broken towel racks in the bathroom and the room had a musty smell. I definitely would not recommend this motel to anyone. There are other places to stay much cozier, quieter and friendlier in Jackson.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmirelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are certainly disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with. We always make the extra effort to please our many guests and sometimes we are just not the place for everyone. I would however encourage anyone who reads this review to please be thorough and read all of the other fantastic comments made. Many of them address the concerns made by this traveler. We feel we have awesome beds, a great location, incredible landscape and the most friendly staff in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

As a small business owner, I love to see other Mom-N-Pop's who personally run & care about their businesses... and who personally care about the customer experience. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the grass was green & mowed, the red baskets of geraniums out front were a bright welcome... and the showers were great! I'll stay again. Thanks, Clint & Kristi ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYRadioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We needed to crash out for a couple of nights before a two week holiday in the Parks.
Arriving late into Jackson straight from the UK - the receptionist was very welcoming and said they were expecing us.
We had a 1st floor room (top floor) and despite my reservation to it's proximity to a busy junction we had no problems with noise.
The only drawback is it's location to the centre of town - you would need to drive - hence I suppose the price.
The room and bathroom was dated but adequate.
One tip - if you book - before you go, check out on Google Street View the motel entrance - can be quite tricky if you're not sure how to get in - especially after dark.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIBNORFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Behind an ordinary motel facade is a hidden gem. If you want clean, comfortable and stylish accommodations at a reasonable price in Jackson this is the place to come to. It is just about 5 minutes from the city center hence the better rates and is very pet friendly! We stayed here with our two standard poodles and we were all greeted with "you and the dogs can go anywhere on the property".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chica-gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found that it met our needs. We wanted a value for money stay in what seems to be an expensive town. We were there to see the mountains, and that's exactly what we did. The Pony Express met our need to have a clean, convenient place to stay. It is situated on the way out of town, but with several places to eat nearby , and the previously mentioned excellent supermarket across the ( 4 lane) road.
The road noise died down at night and earplugs took care of any other potential noise!

The lady at reception gave us some recommendations for places to eat. The main town was a short drive away ( with nice shops and easy parking)

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We had a kitchen which was in the room ( ie not separate), and our children had a connecting room next door with bunk beds. There was a pool which we didn't make use of. There were some lovely hanging baskets all along the front of the motel which looked very cheerful.

A small complaint was that our bathroom didn't have an extractor fan...but it had a window which could be opened, so that was fine !

I would stay here again - its clean and good value. And nice to support a small , non -chain business.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility problems, or dont want to carry luggage upstairs .
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marytontie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here two nights and found it absolutely fine. Yes, it's next to a huge road but I really didn't notice that at all when trying to sleep and the traffic definitely died down. You did need to drive to the grocery store (but we were used to driving everywhere by then) and it was a great store and was huge. There's also a Mcdonalds and starbucks just across the street too which was handy. The rooms were clean and the beds really comfy. The kitchenette was adequate and the free wi-fi worked fine for me. Perhaps the only complaint I could give was that we were on the bottom floor and when the people above us got up in the night/early in the morning the floorboards would creak a bit and you could hear them walking about, but it wasn't much of a big deal at all. All in all we didn't see the staff really but when we checked in the lady was really nice to us and gave us some dinner recommendations. Nice motel, old, but very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateHawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#7 of 40 in Jackson
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#14 of 40 in Jackson
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#21 of 40 in Jackson
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $79 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing