We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Behind an ordinary motel facade is a hidden gem. If you want clean, comfortable and stylish accommodations at a reasonable price in Jackson this is the place to come to. It is just about 5 minutes from the city center hence the better rates and is very pet friendly! We stayed here with our two standard poodles and we were all greeted with "you and the dogs can go anywhere on the property".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chica-gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    166
    56
    16
    16
See reviews for
158
201
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found that it met our needs. We wanted a value for money stay in what seems to be an expensive town. We were there to see the mountains, and that's exactly what we did. The Pony Express met our need to have a clean, convenient place to stay. It is situated on the way out of town, but with several places to eat nearby , and the previously mentioned excellent supermarket across the ( 4 lane) road.
The road noise died down at night and earplugs took care of any other potential noise!

The lady at reception gave us some recommendations for places to eat. The main town was a short drive away ( with nice shops and easy parking)

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We had a kitchen which was in the room ( ie not separate), and our children had a connecting room next door with bunk beds. There was a pool which we didn't make use of. There were some lovely hanging baskets all along the front of the motel which looked very cheerful.

A small complaint was that our bathroom didn't have an extractor fan...but it had a window which could be opened, so that was fine !

I would stay here again - its clean and good value. And nice to support a small , non -chain business.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility problems, or dont want to carry luggage upstairs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marytontie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here two nights and found it absolutely fine. Yes, it's next to a huge road but I really didn't notice that at all when trying to sleep and the traffic definitely died down. You did need to drive to the grocery store (but we were used to driving everywhere by then) and it was a great store and was huge. There's also a Mcdonalds and starbucks just across the street too which was handy. The rooms were clean and the beds really comfy. The kitchenette was adequate and the free wi-fi worked fine for me. Perhaps the only complaint I could give was that we were on the bottom floor and when the people above us got up in the night/early in the morning the floorboards would creak a bit and you could hear them walking about, but it wasn't much of a big deal at all. All in all we didn't see the staff really but when we checked in the lady was really nice to us and gave us some dinner recommendations. Nice motel, old, but very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateHawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our room was clean, comfortable & perfectly adequate for our needs, which amounted to little more than wanting a place to shower and sleep after a long day in Grand Teton NP.

The staff was good and helpful.

The wi-fi, however, was poor.

The location has its pluses and minuses. Its on the main road south out of town, so its a little farther from the park than most places. The road is the commercial strip, however, so there's most anything you could want close by. Jackson isn't a big place so downtown is also not too far away. It is also at the intersection with the road heading up to Teton Village and all the stuff up there.

Not a bad stay at all, but with all the other options in Jackson I'd probably go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeadGuyKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perhaps I was naïve. I was traveling with two children and wanted something simple and quiet with a kitchen. The woman on the phone gave me the impression they were a little motel "with a grocery store right across the street" and bunk beds in the room for the kids.
This motel is at the intersection of a six-lane highway and the fast road to Idaho. The "grocery store across the street" is the biggest Albertsons in the state and is in a huge outdoor mall. Across the street means across six lanes of heavy traffic.
On the positive side, the staff once we got there was friendly.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank reporteratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for you input. Jackson is a busy place in the the summer months. Your review was fairly accurate, our highway is only 4 lanes, with a 2 lane road heading over Teton Pass to Idaho. We have installed all new windows to completely cut out any road noise, and generally by 8 pm the traffic has disappeared. We feel grateful that we are not backed up to a busy interstate highway, where the noise never subsides. And you mentioned we have a beautiful Albertsons right across the road, for those guest who take full advantage of our rooms with full kitchens. There are many options for travelers who want to stay outside of town, in Cabins or up at the Four Seasons in the Village, of course the cost would be much different than our small property. We continue to project what we are, a great value in Jackson, with many satisfied guest who testify to that fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the most run down motel/suite we stayed during a one-month road trip through the US. Our first impression of our unit wasn't enhanced by the broken or rotten floor boards that sagged in various places under the carpet as we moved about the room! The bathroom was tiny but functional - the floor sloped considerably as could be seen by the gap under the door when closed. Air con was too noisy to use at night but bed was comfortable. Unit was clean. Location is convenient and traffic noise minimal - we didn't use kitchen facilities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for your input, we take all reviews very seriously. While we do concede we are an older property we have taken and continue to take great strides in maintaining The Pony Express. We have upgraded all the beds and bedding, new windows, fresh paint, updated tub/shower area, the list goes on. We are not a chain Hotel/Motel in Jackson, those rates range from $300-$3,000 per night. We offer a real value with a clean and friendly property and will always continue to maintain our great reputation as such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are looking for the Ritz, this is not your place; however, if you want a clean, quiet, nicely appointed motel, the Pony Express Motel is a good choice. Our room had a full kitchen, which really made a difference. The staff was very frienly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises. By the way, location, location, location......This place is situated across the road from a food store and right next to the road to Grand Teton park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#26 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#16 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#29 of 41 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Property: Pony Express Motel
Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing