We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks!”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed at Pony Express three times over the course of two weeks - before, between and after camping trips in Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks. Clint and Kristi were helpful and responsive before the trip - confirming my stay, letting me drop a bag so I didn't have to take backpacking gear kayaking (and vise versa). During the stays they were great with suggestions in town, tips for the parks, and even loaned us bear spray, which we almost needed!

The rooms are clean, well maintained and recently renovated. The pool was warm and they have washer and dryer onsite. Many more parks to see, but if I make it back there I'll be returning to this hotel!

Thanks for making my stay great!
Brian

Room Tip: I stayed in three different rooms - both on the first and second floor. All were great and had full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

The folks at Pony Express are great people. They were incredibly accommodating when our reservations changed last minute and we needed to check in a day early. They even found a specialist to help fix our camper troubles. Its not the Four Seasons, but it was clean and the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wandering_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The people are pleasant, and they have a very sweet, older dog. The motel is adequate for one night, but it is not great. By the time you have paid for the room and contributed to the tax base of Wyoming and Jackson, you may easily have spent over $150/night. That is a lot of money for a motel room much in need of a complete remodel. Although, in fairness, lodging is rather pricey in this touristy, faux Western town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlubinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We wanted a simple, inexpensive but clean place to lay our head while exploring Jackson and the Tetons and the Poney Express Motel was it! Clint and Kristi are warm, gracious and knowledgable hosts. The place is nothing fancy but very clean. The pool, though again nothing fancy, was very clean and perfect for a quick cool down. Nice hammock, bbq and sitting area too. We were upgraded to the condos from the room with the bunk bed and though both were nice the condo was a great bonus with a nice kitchen and 2 seperate bedrooms. If you want fancy and elegant this is not the place but if you want a clean, comfortable place with very nice people that won't break your wallet check this place out. It is close to the road, so there is some traffic noise but for us that was not an issue.
My only comment is that the kitchen could use some basics - napkins, salt and pepper (though plenty of dishes and cooking ware).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav2dagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I must say that I am extremely unimpressed with my stay at the Pony Express in Jackson, WY. While the rooms were fine (nothing too spectacular, but you get what you pay for) the turn for the worse in customer service left a bad taste in my mouth (an in those of my seven travel companions’) from the get go.

My travel companions and I booked our three rooms before we left our home in Italy a month or so before our scheduled stay. We were extremely surprised when we received a mailed copy of our invoice (including deposit, room prices, taxes, balance due, etc.) and saw that the attendant had taken the time to write a note by hand thanking us for our booking and wishing us safe travels from Italy. Needless to say, we were very pleased.

However, when we got to the Pony Express and went to check in, we saw a different side of the establishment. The attendant surprised us with a balance due that was around $40.00 more than the signed copy of the invoice that they had sent us a month prior. When we asked why, and showed them our copy, they told us that it was not their mistake, that our balance to pay was what they had on record (and not what they had sent us), and that the person who had sent us the invoice had been let go. We paid the balance this new, higher balance and told the attendant that we thought it very rude that we had to pay for their mistake (if every hotel on our 2.5 week road trip charged more then they told us, we obviously would have a very incorrect budget).

In the meantime, the supervisor came out of her office and asked what was wrong. Her first reaction was to moralize on how because it was the mistake of the worker that they let go, and therefore “not theirs,” that we should be the ones to take it. She also said she would reverse our charge. After going to the computer to do so, she then said “NO, I don’t have to do this, this is your problem.” Having witnessed their rudeness and unprofessionalism and recognizing a lost cause, we took our keys and went to our room.

Not only did we find it rude that they put their mistake (which again was a SIGNED invoice) on us, but not once did they apologize. They arrogantly put all fault on us.

Anyway, to sum up our experience: the rooms were mediocre, the service was extremely sub-par and disappointing, and the location of the hotel is far from everything.

We do not recommend the Pony Express.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank randwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Greetings from the Pony Express in Jackson. I remember working with you at the time of check in and have a different memory of the details of the situation. Regardless, your reservation was made on Booking.com and you reserved three rooms for one night at the published online rate. When it was input on our end, an error was made. I apologized for this mistake. Had the error been made in your favor, I'm assuming you would not have been upset about it. You booked three rooms for a certain rate on Booking.com and that's what you were charged. Nothing more, nothing less. We mail and email a copy of confirmations to every guest at the time of booking which encourages folks to review the details of the reservation so any errors or discrepancies may be caught prior to arrival. This computer and technological age allows so much to be accomplished on the internet, however, whenever possible we would much rather have folks call or email us directly! The service is much more personal this way. Thanks a bunch and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We arrived very late our plane was delayed, but the owner had called to check on us, he was very nice.The room was very clean, comfortable. Had a frig and microwave. Our room was on the ground floor, so no stairs to climb and parking was just outside the door. Location was ok, right across from Albertsons and McDonalds.not far from town, you could walk there.Our AC didnt work, we just raised the windows and it was fine, it could have been the electrical system on that side of the room, because the lights werent working either.We didnt say anything , it was so late and we were scheduled to ck out next day.This is basically a nice clean , inexpensive motel with a friendly owner.
There is no iron, ironing board or blow dryer and the bathroom is very small. There was no rooms available the next night, so we stayed at Elk Country Inn, a step up for not much more money.So if there was a choice my next visit, it would be Elk Country Inn and 2nd choice would be Pony Express while staying in Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Pony. Although we appreciate the feedback, it is always helpful when a guest is able to tell us in person if something appears not to be working. Had you not been a late arrival, we would have been able to tell you that the A/C is controlled by the switch on the wall! For future travelers who read this review, please let us know if you would like an ironing board/iron and/or hairdryer in your room. We will be happy to make sure it is there for your arrival. Again, thanks for staying with us during your short time in Jackson Hole...we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked a room with a queen bed and kitchen unit but when wse arrived they had upgraded us, at no extra cost, to a condo that had a lounge and kitchen, two bedrooms, bathroom and balcony.
We only used one bed room and did not make full use of the full size cooker, but were able to make our breakfast there and eat it on the balcony and sit in comfort inthe lounge. There was also a good pool which we made use of, and evryone was most friendly and helpful.
If we go to Jackson again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#21 of 40 in Jackson
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $77 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing