We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic food”
Review of Town Square Tavern

Town Square Tavern
Ranked #58 of 146 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Search Google, plenty of sites give details
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special here. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and doing people watching, but the food was average. My mom and I had flatbread pizza and salads. They were ok, but nothing great. The balcony made the meal more enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    181
    132
    52
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice balcony to view the square”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

For a place to have a drink and a basic meal, this place hits he spot, if you can get a seat on the balcony. If not, there's plenty of other better places to eat.

I had chicken fried steak which wasn't bad (however serving it with slices of toast seemed a bit odd).

Service was pretty prompt and the drink arrived cold.

All in all, not fancy but convenient and a good view of the square.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My salad was great!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

In my group of 10, everyone liked what they ordered. I had the arugula salad. I really liked it. The person next to me had a chili hamburger. It looked very good. The service was slow, but the gal had too many tables to wait on. The bathroom was a long walk. Very inconvenient.

Helpful?
Thank Ewyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just good ole food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great place to stop for lunch while shopping in Jackson. Good lunch food and plenty of it. I have heard this is also a rally fun place to be at night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst resturant I have eaten at!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

They say us down right away. We then set there for over 20 minutes before they brought us our drinks. They waited on two tables that was seated after us before they acknowledged we was there. Our waitress stood at a table with her friends as my table and the two tables beside me waited to order and as we waited on our food. They then added a 18% tip on our bill without it being posted. When I talked with manager he was not concearned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Square Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Town Square Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing