We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 for a reason”
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #21 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Located South of Town Square. The Bird provides one of the most fantastic views in the greater Teton Valley, with panoramic mountain vistas offering a brilliant sunset. A favorite watering hole of local legend Colonel Angus, it is a neighborhood pub atmosphere with rustic wood interior. Great for all but beware, the late-night scene can get quite rowdy and may not be suitable for families with young children.The Bird prides itself in offering a unique "local" experience whilst offering great cuisine. Not the place to be pandered to but if you wish to let loose, eat right, and escape the standard tourist trap come on in!
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellent dinner tonight...burger, french dip, shishito peppers, fries & sauces were all outstanding. Draft beer tasted really fresh, and the place had a great vibe. I'll go back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    151
    52
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union Hall, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 on TA, You Must be Kidding!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wife and I felt like grabbing a burger tonight so, based on the TA reviews, we decided to try The Bird. What a mistake that turned out to be! Walked into the place to lots of noise and the clacking of pool balls. No sign to tell you to seat yourself or "wait to be seated"; had to ask the bartender. A server came pretty quickly and took our order and returned with our beverages.
Had to wait about one-half hour for our burgers to arrive but we figured it might be worth the wait for a good burger. Unfortunately, the burgers were probably the worst we've ever had. They may use fresh ground beef but they don't know how to cook them. They were far too salty and mine was practically raw though I ordered medium. If you're thinking why didn't he send it back, it's because we never saw our server again! They serve their burgers on an Engish muffin which turned into slop due to the undercooked meat. I left most of my food on the plate which really griped me since I was paying $14 for this burger. $14 dollars? Are they serving imported Kobe beef? I think not! When we wanted the check, we finally had to accost some other server to get it. So if eating at a place with lots of noise, lousy food, and clientele
sporting the unabridged "[--]" on their shirts, this is the place for you, then eat at The Bird. McDonald's is a more pleasant place to eat and the food is better and that's saying something. Oh, by the way, their pickles are good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jzb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and mother-in-law there last night based on TA reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's a little ride from downtown Jackson, but well worth It. The atmosphere was just what we expected, a bar/restaurant where we could enjoy the food to some decent music, yet still have good conversation without having to yell. The burgers were
prepared to perfection. I ordered mine medium and wished I had taken the advise on the menu and ordered medium rare. I've never ordered medium rare, but after giving it a few minutes to finish cooking, it would have been more like what I know as medium. That was my issue, but the burger was about as good a meal as I can remember. If you're looking for an enjoyable night out and great food to boot, you can't go wrong here!

Dennis
Middletown, DE

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rating?”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was from out of town visiting family and went to Trip Advisor to find reviews so this was the #1 place. We ordered hamburgers lets say it was smaller than a kids burger. Fries were ok...Price $$ like everywhere Jackson, is crazy priced. For that price I should be floored by taste not the price. I will not be going back especially with family. This place is for sports and drinking...The view is better than the rest....To bad I still can't find a GREAT burger in Jackson...Next time I will BBQ my own burger... Service was good the girls were nice.. Do not bring kids...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 307Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had the veggie burger and my partner had a hamburger, both of which were the best we've ever had. The staff was very courteous pleasant and attentive. The view was amazing. This is really the best place to get a burger anywhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cardiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing