We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place makes me smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bird

The Bird
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bird is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 144 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located South of Town Square. The Bird provides one of the most fantastic views in the greater Teton Valley, with panoramic mountain vistas offering a brilliant sunset. A favorite watering hole of local legend Colonel Angus, it is a neighborhood pub atmosphere with rustic wood interior. Great for all but beware, the late-night scene can get quite rowdy and may not be suitable for families with young children.The Bird prides itself in offering a unique "local" experience whilst offering great cuisine. Not the place to be pandered to but if you wish to let loose, eat right, and escape the standard tourist trap come on in!
SF Bay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place makes me smile”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'm happy that places like this exist. No BS, quality beef, good beer selection and specials. Wish we had a place like this closer to home!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P0wderDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    149
    51
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hangout”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Coming from big cities where bars/restaurants rely on loud music and overpriced drinks to produce quick turnover, we liked The Bird's quirky, laid back environment. Very friendly staff. Casual atmosphere.

Unlike many bar/restaurants, the food and drink was varied and good. We liked everything we ate -- particularly the super-spicy hotwings uncommon to find at a restaurant -- and appreciated the drink options ranging from German beer to $3 domestics. Also liked that they provided a ride home.

After a day of skiing we enjoyed spending a couple hours having dinner, shooting pool, and listening to discussion. To give an idea of the crowd, some patrons were seated alone at the bar for dinner and a beer, there were a couple families with children in the backroom, and a few other groups conversing at tables -- some locals, some vacationing skiiers. Adults there tended to be in the 25-40 age range.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ermibr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York, Ont
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Saw this was #1 place on trip advisor so our group decided to give it a shot. It was a great place. I had the steak and it was cooked perfect. It was really busy but service was still great. The atmoshphere was a lot of fun. You can see why it's #1. Would of went here more just only decided to go our last day. Burgers were also really good

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sim0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Renews faith in burgers”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I love a good burger but have pretty much given up on getting a decent one outside of my home. No matter what you put on it, if its a over cooked, dried out preformed patty, it will not be good. After reading the reviews on TA, I decided to give The Bird a try. Its a little out of the way but well worth the effort.I ordered a medium rare burger and I recieved a perfectly cooked medium rare burger. Juicy, flavorful, perfect. I was in heaven. The staff was very friendly and made us feel comfortable from the moment we walked in. I'm already looking forward to going back on my next trip to Jackson.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simply Great!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went here on a snowy Sunday. Great burger, wonderful atmosphere, friendly owner and staff! Worth going out of the way for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonAnnville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing