We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Adventure in Jackson Hole”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please join me on a private, Jackson Hole Photographic Scenic and Wildlife Safari through Grand Teton National Park with me as your experienced guide. I will provide you with a unique opportunity to explore the unparalleled scenery and wildlife surrounding Jackson Hole. Grizzly and black bears, moose, elk, mule deer, bison, pronghorn, eagles and wolves are just some of the wildlife we often experience. With my visual and ethical appreciation for the environment I' am anxious to share my passion with all my guests. I guarantee I will be your guide. I offer over 39 years of experience in seeking out the elusive wildlife that inhabits the region and extensive knowledge on the best locations to view and photograph the picturesque surroundings of Grand Teton National Park. I offer only one Safari Tour per day and each tour is individually customized. All tours include fresh morning glory breakfast muffins, refreshments and of course the use of high quality Nikon binoculars, and Swarovski spotting scopes, as well as tripods and rain-gear. Please be sure to check out the rest, and see why people choose Paul Martin's Photo Safaris. I sincerely hope I can be part of your amazing Jackson Hole adventure! --Paul
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Amazing Adventure in Jackson Hole”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went on a sunrise photo safari with Paul on January 19 and it exceeded my expectations. As a first time visitor to Jackson Hole, I was looking to hire a photographer with a vast knowledge of the area, and the experience to help me maximize my time. I found both - and much more - in Paul. His expertise and guidance made it both a rewarding and worthwhile experience. Paul took me to all of the well-known, must-see locations (oxbow bend, snake river overlook)... but more importantly, took me to lesser-known, pristine spots around the valley. He helped me compose and shoot my pictures - and even spent time with me to edit them afterwards. He truly cares about the happiness of his clients and tailored the entire outing to fit my specific interest (landscape photography). I would recommend Paul to anyone who is looking to get a comprehensive tour of the area and leave with some incredible pictures of a destination that is truly breathtaking. Thank you again, Paul.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I get asked all the time if I will be taking my guests to Oxbow Bend or other popular iconic locations, and of course I will, but you can do that with anyone. I also share some of the lessor known, but even more spectacular scenic locations giving my guests the opportunity to take home images unique and special that others simply miss. Because all my tours are private we focus on what your most interested in while still getting an unforgettable comprehensive view of Grand Teton National Park and Jackson Hole. Thanks Nick, and I look forward to your next visit. --Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    3
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paul is the perfect guide for a photo tour”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I can't recommend Paul highly enough. He was extremely generous in every way. He loaned me his lenses and tripods, where others would charge a fee. He did not make us go out on the day we had booked in advance because the weather would have led to a less than ideal trip. In everything he did, his goal was always to optimize our experience. He took great care to meet our needs, especially from a photographic point of view. His love of the Park comes through in everything he does. If I visit Grand Teton again, I will get another tour with Paul.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelleava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
There is a photographer I all of us, phone cameras and point-and-shoot cameras are getting better everyday offering everyone the opportunity to capture great photos and memories. And of course there are those who are more serious about their photos with the advances in DSLR cameras. Since 1974 I have been photographing the landscapes and wildlife of Grand Teton National Park and today I really enjoy sharing that knowledge with all my guests. Thanks so much for giving me the opportunity in having you as one of my guests. --Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect ending to a wonderful vacation”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have spent the last 10 days in Yellowstone and the Tetons, enjoying the splendor of Wyoming in winter. During this time, I have had one wonderful adventure after another. I love photography and although I am a relative newcomer to the activity I am passionate about it, and wanted someone familiar with the Jackson area to guide me to areas off the track with superlative views. Paul provided everything I was looking for and then some. During the entire morning, beginning before sunrise, he provided great tips on composition and shared numerous other information to help improve my work. It seems forty plus years of experience is helpful!! He also shared insight into the local area, it's culture and development, all of which made the trip more meaningful. All in all, the guide you choose makes all the difference. I have already discussed doing a couple more days with Paul when I return in June.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Christine and thank you so much for your review and sharing with others, I enjoyed our morning together and conversation. Its my guests like you that make what I do so rewarding. Every day a trip though Grand Teton National Park is different and especially rewarding when Im able to share it with my guests. My guests that are interested in becoming better photographers are able to tap into a lifetime of experience as a local professional photographer with extensive knowledge of the culture and history of Jackson Hole, and though conversation and hands-on photography I hope to set you on a path of achieving your goals. Im really looking forward to your next tour this summer.--Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Nice Day”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was so pleased to learn much more about the area, finding great new spots to photograph. The vehicle was the nicest I've seen. Paul couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. It was just what I was looking for.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank photogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was my pleasure sharing a winter morning in Grand Teton National Park with you. My Mercedes Sprinter Van is unique as I designed it from the inside out with both the photographer and causal visitor in mind offering captain chair seating with windows for each guest and a convertible top. Landscape vistas was the focus on our morning where we stopped at some of my favorite lessor known locations that offer a unique and fresh view of the unparalleled mountain views. I look forward to your next visit. --Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surpassed Expectations”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We requested a wildlife photography tour and what we got was way better. Paul postponed the date so that we would have ideal weather conditions. He picked us up at our hotel punctually at 6.30 so that we could watch the dawn advance down the Tetons. This Alpen glow was spectacular and beyond imagination. The colours and contrast were amazing. My photos will be like calendar scenes, or better.
This could only be the case because Paul is a dedicated and experienced photographer.
He arranged for us to stop where the animals could be seen at best advantage with a vista behind.
Really worth the money, an unforgettable day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dr_ruthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
There are many advantages to booking a guide as compared to booking a company and personalized service and flexibility are two good reasons. Im so happy I was able to reschedule your tour to accommodate your group. Winter in Grand Teton National Park offers some of the best landscape photography and viewing of the year with early morning alpenglow one of the highlights, and we had a perfect sunrise on this particular morning. Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers and for allowing me to share this part of your journey. --Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing